How far into the approach with an autopilot

jssmith.lh

Pre-Flight
Display Name

Display name:
Goldthwaite flyer
I searched around and couldn't find anything on this. I'm sure someone will prove me wrong :->

I recently went from an airplane with a wing leveler to one with GPSS/coupled approach.
At first I used heading and vs mode to the FAF. I started playing around with coupled approaches and thought way cool. Now I'm wondering about coupled approaches to MAP. Thought I would see what others are doing and why.

Fire away!

I have flown training mission approaches to mins with AP, then use GPSS to take me to holding after missed... with Century 2000

You need to make part of your checklist to disengage the autopilot. Can get real funny when you are trying to land on your own.

If you read the manual for your autopilot it will define when you can engage it, and how long you can keep it engaged for.

Exactly, you need to read the supplement for your equipment. Depending on the equipment installed, some will let you fly coupled all the way down the ILS, some have minimum altitude restrictions.

You need to make part of your checklist to disengage the autopilot. Can get real funny when you are trying to land on your own.
Yup, the last thing you want is a big trim adjustment at minimums.....when you push that red button.:confused:

It can also be real important for a missed approach, for example on a G1000-equipped airplane if it doesn't have a go-around button.

Mine is good to go on passing 200ft agl on departure and has to come off at 200 agl on arrival. Sometimes I do both but usually I hand fly a bit more. Depends on my mood and the Wx.

Just that including the miss and hold with an experimental RV10 and panel. Have to practice both to stay proficient in both.

G430w, GRT HXr, TruTrak

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk Pro