Garmin Pilot for Android -- Tech Support, Tips, Tricks

Discussion in 'Technical Corner' started by Jay Honeck, Jan 17, 2013.

  1. RotorDude

    RotorDude Pattern Altitude

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2014
    Messages:
    2,318
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    GliderDude
    Can you elaborate?
    Thanks.
     
  2. lziegenhals

    lziegenhals Pre-Flight PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2013
    Messages:
    33
    Location:
    Boerne, Texas
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Lee Z
    On the Flight Planning page, if the departure or destination airports are below the weather minimums for the type of flight (VFR/IFR), GP displays a yellow triangle next to the airport name. I've attached a screenshot of an example (I had to look around for some airports with weather, as it's severe clear in San Antonio tonight).

    If you click on VIEW ALTERNATE AIRPORTS, it show a list of potential alternates, with the forecast ceiling and visibility. I've haven't spent much time playing with this, so I don't know how accurate it is or how it figures the forecast info for airports without TAFs (it's an option to show all nearby alternates or only those with TAFs).

    Lee
     

    Attached Files:

  3. RotorDude

    RotorDude Pattern Altitude

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2014
    Messages:
    2,318
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    GliderDude
    Yes, seems very cool. I can see the different alternates listed, sorted by nearest to destination, each its ceiling/vis, runway length and a color code for legality as alternate (?). I think that it started allowing me to proceed filling more fields only after changing the flight type to 'IFR', since default was VFR. I definitely need to play with it some more.
    (Maybe I can just hook it up to the autopilot. :) )
    Thanks!
     
  4. Jay Honeck

    Jay Honeck Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,392
    Location:
    Port Aransas, TX
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Jay Honeck
    Just a data point -- we flew with the new version for an hour yesterday, no problemo. It doesn't appear to have broken anything. ;)
     
  5. RotorDude

    RotorDude Pattern Altitude

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2014
    Messages:
    2,318
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    GliderDude
    A new feature in new Garmin Pilot Android version 5.1.0 is the ability to access Google Maps and Google Earth directly from any airport info page. I had somehow missed this feature before so maybe others have also.
    To access the feature, just go to any airport info page and click the 'Map' button. You can click on the Google Earth or Google Map icon as on a desktop browser.
    It seems to remember your last selection of either GE or GM, which is nice, but obviously becomes nearly useless once you are airborne without internet, so it's for planning purposes only. The old 'Garmin Map' option (i.e. your choice of the normal aviation maps) is of course still available under the 'Map' button in that case.
     
  6. Mistake Not...

    Mistake Not... Cleared for Takeoff

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2013
    Messages:
    1,251
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Mistake Not...
    Anyone else have trouble with Garmin Pilot using a bunch of battery, even when not in use? I have GP 5.1 on a nexus 6 (as backup), and even after a full charge and reboot, it's showing up as the biggest consumer of battery life. "Force Stop" is grayed out (so the main app isn't running, I assume). I'm guessing it's some sort of update service, but it's never used this much juice before.
     
  7. flyingriki

    flyingriki Ejection Handle Pulled

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    911
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    flyingriki
    Haven't been keeping up with this after my disappointing experience with an early Nexus 7 and clear canopy. Have any small tablets improved visibility under these bright conditions using this app?
    Thanks!
     
  8. RotorDude

    RotorDude Pattern Altitude

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2014
    Messages:
    2,318
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    GliderDude
    No, I have never seen GP ever using any battery when not running. If GP is not running, I can leave the tablet (2013 N7, no phone) in hibernate mode for days with minimal charge loss (depending on GPS, BT, LAN, etc.).

    I normally fly my dual 2013 N7s running GP Android in a high wing plane, but have also flown an N7 in other aircraft with fairly open canopies, and have not encountered any significant visibility issues. I personally think the N7 display is outstanding, in either sunny or shaded environments, compared to all my previous devices. If I look directly into the sun, then I can't see anything, and in that case I suppose the N7 would be washed out, but I try to avoid looking at the sun directly.
     
  9. Mistake Not...

    Mistake Not... Cleared for Takeoff

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2013
    Messages:
    1,251
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Mistake Not...
    Yeah, same here. Normally, GP is well behaved. But my phone always lasts all day (and more) and suddenly I'm down to 50% before I leave work. I was all "WTF?". Looked at battery usage and there's Garmin Pilot at the top. Only problem is, I haven't started Garmin Pilot in days. Phone's been reboot and charged and Garmin Pilot is STILL the worst offender. Not sure what's running, because the main app isn't (the "Force stop" button is grayed out). I'm wondering if their service that checks for updates isn't sleeping like it should.
     
  10. stevenclin

    stevenclin Pre-Flight

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2013
    Messages:
    47
    Location:
    Chapel Hill, NC
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Steve Lin
    After using Garmin Pilot with a Baron/XM/MobileLink setup for a few years, I recently purchased a GDL39 (3D) and have been flying with it for a couple of months. Took my first long flight (4 hours) with it this past week, and I noticed that as the hours went on, the responsiveness of my tablet, a Galaxy Note 10.1, got slower and slower. After about 3 hours it would literally take 30 seconds or so to switch between map / airport info / other pages, or for the little circle thingie to come up when I clicked on the map.

    I rebooted my tablet and things were fast again. It happened again on the way back (another long flight).

    I don't recall seeing this behavior when using the MobileLink -- I wonder if Garmin Pilot gets slower and slower as it stores all the new data coming from the GDL39? Has anyone else seen this type of behavior?

    I know my tablet is a few years old, but it's pretty responsive at the start of the flight. Just not by the end.
     
  11. lziegenhals

    lziegenhals Pre-Flight PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2013
    Messages:
    33
    Location:
    Boerne, Texas
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Lee Z
    I haven't noticed that on my Nexus 7 with the non-3D version of the GDL 39, although I think the longest leg I've flown with it is about 2.5 hours. Sometimes Garmin Pilot is a bit sluggish when I first start it, but it's fine after a minute or so, and I haven't seen it slow down as the flight progresses.

    Lee
     
  12. jsstevens

    jsstevens En-Route PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    May 18, 2007
    Messages:
    3,429
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    jsstevens
  13. RotorDude

    RotorDude Pattern Altitude

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2014
    Messages:
    2,318
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    GliderDude
    In theory, that can never happen. In practice, anything can.
     
  14. Matthew

    Matthew Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2005
    Messages:
    12,895
    Location:
    kojc, kixd, k34
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Matthew
    I hope the ABS in my car doesn't have Android.
     
  15. Mikejr718

    Mikejr718 Filing Flight Plan

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    mikejr718
    What andriod tablets work well with garmin pilot and fit well inside the cockpit. I would like something between an ipad mini and an iphone 6 in size. I have always had apple in the past but find the mini a little to big.
     
  16. Matthew

    Matthew Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2005
    Messages:
    12,895
    Location:
    kojc, kixd, k34
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Matthew
    I have a Nexus 7.
     
  17. lziegenhals

    lziegenhals Pre-Flight PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2013
    Messages:
    33
    Location:
    Boerne, Texas
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Lee Z
    I am also using a Nexus 7, and I'm quite happy with the performance and the size. My only complaint is that it's hard to read in direct sunlight. In fact, even a reflection of the sun off of a light-colored shirt can make it hard to read.

    Lee
     
  18. Matthew

    Matthew Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2005
    Messages:
    12,895
    Location:
    kojc, kixd, k34
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Matthew
    The first time I used my N7 in a Grumman AA1 with the full canopy, I could barely see the screen. I turned it up to full brightness, it helped a little.

    Normally, I just set it down on the passenger seat, in my lap, or in the side pocket and refer to it once in a while.
     
  19. RotorDude

    RotorDude Pattern Altitude

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2014
    Messages:
    2,318
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    GliderDude
    I have 2 x Nexus 7's running GP (one per yoke), and have never noticed any issue with bright light readability, including in helicopters (which have a lot more sunlight). I probably wouldn't use it in a bubble-canopy style aircraft where you are immersed in sunlight, however.
     
  20. Ghery

    Ghery Final Approach

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2005
    Messages:
    8,746
    Location:
    Olympia, Washington
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Ghery Pettit
    I have a 2012 Nexus 7 that I'm starting to look to replace. Slow is an understatement. It also has trouble starting many major apps (Facebook, Kindle, Garmin Pilot, etc). My wife's 2013 Nexus 7 works just fine.

    Suggestions? (serious, not facetious)
     
  21. denverpilot

    denverpilot Taxi to Parking

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    41,362
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    DenverPilot
    Google really left Nexus 7 owners with no real device in their lineup as a replacement/upgrade path. Kinda turns me off on them.
     
  22. RotorDude

    RotorDude Pattern Altitude

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2014
    Messages:
    2,318
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    GliderDude
    For less than a tank of gas (for me anyway), you can't go wrong with this:
    http://www.amazon.com/Nexus-Google-7-Inch-Black-Tablet/dp/B00DVFLJDS

    I got one of those, and it works great with Garmin Pilot. Super happy with it.
     
  23. denverpilot

    denverpilot Taxi to Parking

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    41,362
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    DenverPilot
    The interesting thing is they were discontinued in April of 2015, with the claim that places like Amazon would continue selling them "While supplies last", and we're coming up on a year later and Amazon still has them... how many of the freakin' things did they have in a warehouse somewhere?! Haha...

    And the "replacement" the Nexus 9, is continually "out of stock" on Google's website.
     
  24. RotorDude

    RotorDude Pattern Altitude

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2014
    Messages:
    2,318
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    GliderDude
    I am pretty sure they still manufacture them, somewhere. I noticed distinct visual differences between my older and newer N7 2013 units. I wouldn't be surprised the latest ones are different again.
     
  25. denverpilot

    denverpilot Taxi to Parking

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    41,362
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    DenverPilot
    Yeah, something very odd going on there... probably couldn't get the 9 to work right, and bailed back to "fire up the manufacture of 7s again until we figure this crap out"... haha...

    Of course, nobody knows where the 8 went... it must have been REALLY bad. :)
     
  26. RotorDude

    RotorDude Pattern Altitude

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2014
    Messages:
    2,318
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    GliderDude
    I suspect at least some of it is form factor. The 7" is the perfect size for my needs -- a Goldilocks size. :)
     
  27. merlin3

    merlin3 Pre-Flight

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Messages:
    50
    Location:
    Beavercreek, ohio
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Justin
    Was using the old nexus 7 for quite a while but finally got sick of how slow it is and now it's for passengers. Picked up a Samsung Galaxy S2 and the difference is nigot and day. Highly recommend the s2.
     
  28. korben88

    korben88 Line Up and Wait

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2015
    Messages:
    570
    Location:
    Salt Lake City
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Troy
    I just bought a Samsung tab A and GP. I though GP had a built in logbook. Am I missing something or is it just on the ios version?
     
  29. eman1200

    eman1200 Final Approach

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2013
    Messages:
    7,216
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    eman1200
    Interesting, I have it in my iPhone but not on the nexus. I'm sure it's coming, unless GP is smart enough to detect 2 devices and only needing it on one since they sync. I dunno.
     
  30. Jay Honeck

    Jay Honeck Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,392
    Location:
    Port Aransas, TX
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Jay Honeck
    Attention: Do not, not, NOT download the new update of GP For Android, 5.3.0! It will not run.

    Just flew to Galveston from Ingleside, TX. It crashes after a few seconds.
    :(

    Sent from my SM-G900V using Tapatalk
     
    Last edited: Jun 14, 2016
  31. Matthew

    Matthew Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2005
    Messages:
    12,895
    Location:
    kojc, kixd, k34
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Matthew
    D'oh. Should have read this about an hour ago. The x.1 update will be out tomorrow, maybe.

    Been playing with it for a few minute, looking at the new features, but didn't see it any crashes.
     
  32. Jay Honeck

    Jay Honeck Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,392
    Location:
    Port Aransas, TX
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Jay Honeck
    I'm uninstalling/reinstalling now. It literally would not even start without crashing, hard.
     
  33. Matthew

    Matthew Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2005
    Messages:
    12,895
    Location:
    kojc, kixd, k34
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Matthew
    wow. I haven't had any problems. I'm using the N7 and upgraded to Android 6.0.1 yesterday.

    I'm about to drive around on errands for a while, I'll let it run in the car.
     
  34. Jay Honeck

    Jay Honeck Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,392
    Location:
    Port Aransas, TX
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Jay Honeck
    Just did a full uninstall/reinstall, and it seems to be running normally.

    We are about to launch on a one hour flight back from KGLS to KTFP. I will let y'all know if that fixed it.
     
  35. Matthew

    Matthew Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2005
    Messages:
    12,895
    Location:
    kojc, kixd, k34
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Matthew
    I let it run in direct-to mode while I drove around town. No problems.
     
  36. Jay Honeck

    Jay Honeck Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,392
    Location:
    Port Aransas, TX
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Jay Honeck
    Okay, after a complete uninstall/reinstall, GP ran perfectly for the 1.1 hour flight home.

    Just beware, there may be something glitchy in the update. Test the update thoroughly on the ground before launching.
     
  37. RotorDude

    RotorDude Pattern Altitude

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2014
    Messages:
    2,318
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    GliderDude
    I saw this warning too late, but all seems OK for now.
    I flew VFR today to a nearby airport and back, about 35 minutes each way, and had the new version installed on my backup N7, mounted on the passenger side yoke. All seemed OK AFAICT. My passenger-pilot didn't notice anything, but he was focusing mostly on his own Garmin 696 on his lap.
    Coincidentally, both N7's got an OTA upgrade of the Android OS today. But I was too chicken to install that prior to the flight, so am doing it now on both tablets.
     
  38. Jay Honeck

    Jay Honeck Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,392
    Location:
    Port Aransas, TX
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Jay Honeck
    Version 5.3.1 is out now, with various "bug fixes."
     
  39. RotorDude

    RotorDude Pattern Altitude

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2014
    Messages:
    2,318
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    GliderDude
    Thanks for the heads up!
    Downloaded on my two N7's, seems OK so far on the desktop.
     
  40. eman1200

    eman1200 Final Approach

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2013
    Messages:
    7,216
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    eman1200
    desktop?