Garmin Pilot for Android -- Tech Support, Tips, Tricks

Discussion in 'Technical Corner' started by Jay Honeck, Jan 17, 2013.

  1. Dave Morris

    Dave Morris Filing Flight Plan

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    N1960
    I'm one of those people with a 16GB Nexus 7 running Garmin Pilot. I've been able for several years to keep all the charts I need for flying mostly the southern half of the country, but I'm down to 1/2 GB of space left. Does anyone know how space is recycled when charts are updated? i.e. are expired charts deleted, and if not, where are they stored so I can delete them manually?

    Dave Morris
    Mooney M20A N1960 at KTRL
     
  2. RotorDude

    RotorDude Pattern Altitude

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2014
    Messages:
    2,316
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    GliderDude
    I have and use two Nexus 7 (2013) tablets, both running latest version Android and Garmin Pilot. One is 32GB and the other 16GB. On the 16GB, which I actually use as my primary since it's a bit newer (the other is a live backup mounted on the other yoke), I try to be more frugal installing stuff (aviation only), to conserve space. At the moment, it is showing (per the GP "Downloads" screen) 2.00GB available. I think once the new cycle date arrives, it will automatically delete the old revision, which should create around 1GB free (speaking from memory), so I expect to have around 3GB available. Looking at the coverage map, I have around half the country covered.
    BTW, for reference, my 32GB tablet is currently showing 11.72GB available (same coverage, but more junk installed).
    In direct answer to your question, the map storage maintenance between update cycles is automatic -- all you need to do is decide on coverage (and change it as needed).
     
  3. lziegenhals

    lziegenhals Pre-Flight PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2013
    Messages:
    33
    Location:
    Boerne, Texas
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Lee Z
    I agree with RotorDude, although I believe the previous cycle's files are kept until they expire. So if you load a new cycle before the old cycle expires, you'll have the files for both cycles on the system for a period of time.

    Having said that, I have occasionally noticed some old files that are not automatically deleted and can't be manually deleted. For example, I still have some A/FD files from editions 1603 and 1606. Pressing the "Delete" button for one of those files in GP gives me the "Are you sure you want to do that?" prompt, but does not delete the file after clicking "OK". So it looks like the cleanup process does not always work. I have seen this only on the A/FD files, though I'm not sure I would ever know if there were any old files in the Procedures and Charts directories since the interface in GP has no way of showing them (it only shows the maps and status for the current and next cycles). It obviously works 99% of the time or my device would have filled up with old files ages ago! I've thought about removing GP and reinstalling it to see how much space I get back on the device, but haven't actually tried that yet.

    Lee
     
  4. Jay Honeck

    Jay Honeck Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,387
    Location:
    Port Aransas, TX
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Jay Honeck
    Latest GP update is out, with a couple of nice new features. The high-def terminal area chart will be nice!

    [​IMG]
     
  5. Jim Rosenow

    Jim Rosenow Pre-takeoff checklist PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2014
    Messages:
    493
    Location:
    Smithville, Ohio
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Jim Rosenow
    Thanks for the heads-up, Jay! D/Ling now.

    Jim
     
  6. Ghery

    Ghery Final Approach

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2005
    Messages:
    8,726
    Location:
    Olympia, Washington
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Ghery Pettit
    The HD TACs are nice.
     
  7. Mistake Not...

    Mistake Not... Cleared for Takeoff

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2013
    Messages:
    1,229
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Mistake Not...
    Miss the map for instrument procedures, though. Or do I need to do something to turn it on instead of the list?
     
  8. Ghery

    Ghery Final Approach

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2005
    Messages:
    8,726
    Location:
    Olympia, Washington
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Ghery Pettit
    I saw this same tablet at Costco for $139.99 yesterday. I may go back and buy another for my wife. Getting really cheap.
     
  9. BrianNC

    BrianNC Line Up and Wait

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    716
    Location:
    Atlanta
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    BrianATL
    As far as new tablets that have come along, what's considered now the latest and greatest Android tablet to run Garmin Pilot?

    Also, does the wifi only version have a GPS unlike the iPad wifi only's which don't?
     
  10. mtuomi

    mtuomi En-Route

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2013
    Messages:
    2,549
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    dera
    I just bought a 8" Galaxy Tab S2. Works great with Garmin Pilot. No Apple BS about GPS either - every version includes a receiver.

    I wish Garmin would make it easier to go from map view to procedures for a certain field. Now it's too many taps IMO. Procedures should be one selection in the "round menu" you get when you tap a field.
     
  11. denverpilot

    denverpilot Taxi to Parking

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    40,977
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    DenverPilot
    I need to pick up one of these cheap tablets and do a head to head with Garmin on IOS and Android. There's a significant version number gap, are there also a significant number of missing features?
     
  12. BrianNC

    BrianNC Line Up and Wait

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    716
    Location:
    Atlanta
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    BrianATL
    Nate, the thread that got me here, someone made this comment about what you're asking about the features:

    My experience, exactly. All the 'new' GP features that seem to debut on iOS fall into a category someone else cleverly labeled as NIBU.....'Nice Idea, But Useless'. SV, logbook, glide rings, etc all fall into this category, in my opinion. I have run GP on a Nexus 7, 2nd Gen for 3 years with zero problems and just upgraded to a Samsung Tab 2S 8.0. Speed improvement was impressive and the larger OLED screen screen is great. The more useless crap features these programs get loaded with the slower they run and the more likely they are to have bugs that will hang them up. This is not my primary navigation tool, so don't give me stuff I don't want or need. Bug-free weather, traffic and approach plates are my real need.... everything else is fluff.

    https://www.pilotsofamerica.com/community/threads/garmin-pilot-issues-6-0-2.102769/#post-2274410
     
  13. denverpilot

    denverpilot Taxi to Parking

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    40,977
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    DenverPilot
    Yeah, eventually I saw that in the backlog of stuff I'm reading here. But it still isn't a feature list comparison.

    Does Garmin publish one? I suspect not.

    It's somewhat embarrassing that they essentially make/support two different versions.

    Currently a month into an "all features on" eval of it for free that lasts six months, so figured I should see it on Android too. (The, "Just try a small hit of this crack pipe... offer... LOL... no Jepp charts in that trial deal, though.)
     
  14. eman1200

    eman1200 Final Approach

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2013
    Messages:
    7,021
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    eman1200
    A SIX month free trial?
     
  15. Jay Honeck

    Jay Honeck Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,387
    Location:
    Port Aransas, TX
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Jay Honeck
    Version 6.1 is out. We finally have synthetic vision.

    First impression -- it's pretty cool. Not as good as in my GRT EFIS, but for a cheap tablet app you sure can't complain. Having SV in both holes of the RV-8 is awfully nice.

    Hard to believe how we've come with this app in just 4 years. It is my go-to, do-everything flying app.

    Sent from my SM-T700 using Tapatalk
     
    ColoPilot likes this.
  16. eman1200

    eman1200 Final Approach

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2013
    Messages:
    7,021
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    eman1200
    you mean, besides paper sectionals, right? ;) ;)
     
    Jay Honeck likes this.
  17. Matthew

    Matthew Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2005
    Messages:
    12,796
    Location:
    kojc, kixd, k34
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Matthew
    Can you post a screenshot of the synthetic vision? My GP subscription expired recently and I haven't flown enough lately to renew it, probably next month, so I haven't seen the new features yet.
     
  18. Jay Honeck

    Jay Honeck Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,387
    Location:
    Port Aransas, TX
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Jay Honeck
    I would if I could, but the internal GPS on my Samsung tablet seems to have failed. I haven't been able to get it to work in a couple of weeks.

    This is no big deal for flying, since we use the GDL-39 remote GPS/ADS-B receiver, but makes doing a screen shot from home impossible. Without GPS lock, there is no synthetic vision.

    Can anyone else accomodate Matthew?

    Sent from my SM-T700 using Tapatalk
     
  19. Mistake Not...

    Mistake Not... Cleared for Takeoff

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2013
    Messages:
    1,229
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Mistake Not...
    I would, but I don't know how to get the synthetic vision to come up. I feel old. I must be missing something obvious, but just assumed you need an external AHRS or something. I have a GDL39 3D but it's in the plane and I'm not.
     
  20. denverpilot

    denverpilot Taxi to Parking

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    40,977
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    DenverPilot
    Man I just saw your question... ha. Not bad I caught it four months late.

    Guess it's not "free". It came with another spendy Garmin product that I kinda didn't buy, but kinda did.
     
    Last edited: Aug 18, 2017
  21. Jay Honeck

    Jay Honeck Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,387
    Location:
    Port Aransas, TX
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Jay Honeck
    It's in one of the menus called Synth Vis, or something like that.

    What's cool is you can run it split screen, with SV above and the moving map below.

    Sent from my SM-T700 using Tapatalk
     
  22. Mistake Not...

    Mistake Not... Cleared for Takeoff

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2013
    Messages:
    1,229
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Mistake Not...
    Ah. Yes. I thought I had a version that should have it. I didn't. Latest update and there's the option.

    Screenshot_20170819-131746.png
     
    Jay Honeck likes this.
  23. Mistake Not...

    Mistake Not... Cleared for Takeoff

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2013
    Messages:
    1,229
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Mistake Not...
    Better shot (doing this on a phone) Screenshot_20170819-132324.png
     
  24. Matthew

    Matthew Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2005
    Messages:
    12,796
    Location:
    kojc, kixd, k34
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Matthew
    Thanks. That's pretty cool. Does it show towers?
     
  25. denverpilot

    denverpilot Taxi to Parking

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    40,977
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    DenverPilot
    I believe I does but don't trust me on that. I know it had a hissy fit on iOS when I was purposefully pointed at the wind turbines near an airport, and think they showed up on it... but it was a while ago, and I'm on the iOS version.
     
  26. lziegenhals

    lziegenhals Pre-Flight PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2013
    Messages:
    33
    Location:
    Boerne, Texas
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Lee Z
    Here are a couple of screenshots on my Android tablet with AHRS from the GTN 345. This first one is (almost) straight and level, though it was pretty bumpy today. You can see a couple of towers to the right, and an airport (8T8) behind the ground speed ribbon. The dark blue smudge on the ground just to the right of center is Canyon Lake, I think:

    Screenshot_20170819-125309.png

    This next one is descending while heading back to 5C1:

    Screenshot_20170819-125518.png

    The airport markers and such are kind of hard to see when they're behind the main display. Honestly, I think I'd prefer to leave those out and not clutter the display. It will warn me of any close obstacles anyway.

    Lee
     
  27. Mistake Not...

    Mistake Not... Cleared for Takeoff

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2013
    Messages:
    1,229
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Mistake Not...
    It'd be better (imho), if the various instruments would snap to the screen edge. That would make the central area a lot less busy, leaving room to show things like obstacles, air space, way points, airways. etc.

    Also, while I'm bitching, lose the skeuomorphic design... the "wheels" the digits appear to be on for the speed and altitude. Looks... toy-like.
     
  28. Mistake Not...

    Mistake Not... Cleared for Takeoff

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2013
    Messages:
    1,229
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Mistake Not...
    ...and from recent IFR frustrations, notice how there doesn't appear to be even a central dot on the pitch ladder. Maybe that's on purpose, but huge opportunity lost to improve the pitch information display. My personal gripe about analog AIs is the scale the information is displayed on. In my airplane, 1/4 ball up or down is 125 ft min, more or less. There's not even a ball to reference.
     
  29. Jay Honeck

    Jay Honeck Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,387
    Location:
    Port Aransas, TX
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Jay Honeck
    So far, our only complaint is the muddy display color contrast.

    My Samsung tablet's display is the crispest and brightest available -- but the SV looks like mud, with contrast between water and land hard to discern.

    We have lots of water here, so it's an issue. lol

    Hopefully they address that nit down the road. Otherwise, it seems to work as advertised, and is a great addition to our back seat cockpit display.

    Sent from my SM-T700 using Tapatalk