Garmin Pilot for Android -- Tech Support, Tips, Tricks

Discussion in 'Technical Corner' started by Jay Honeck, Jan 17, 2013.

  1. Matthew

    Matthew Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2005
    Messages:
    12,767
    Location:
    kojc, kixd, k34
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Matthew
    You know, it's what holds up your coffee cup. But that's not important right now.
     
    Jay Honeck and eman1200 like this.
  2. jaybee

    jaybee Line Up and Wait

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2012
    Messages:
    962
    Location:
    Out of a suitcase
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    jaybee
    renewed my Garmin Pilot subscription on my phone, no issues.

    Fired up my N7 tablet and its not working. Of course last minute prepping for a trip and support isn't open...

    Uninstalled, reinstalled, logged in with same password
     
  3. Matthew

    Matthew Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2005
    Messages:
    12,767
    Location:
    kojc, kixd, k34
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Matthew
    I have 5.3.2 on my N7. I haven't used it yet, though.
     
  4. jaybee

    jaybee Line Up and Wait

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2012
    Messages:
    962
    Location:
    Out of a suitcase
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    jaybee
    Signed out/in couple hundred times and it finally recognized the new subscription...
     
  5. Matthew

    Matthew Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2005
    Messages:
    12,767
    Location:
    kojc, kixd, k34
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Matthew
    Are the VFR Flyway charts on Garmin Pilot? I see WAC, TAC, and sectionals for VFR, but I haven't seen the flyway charts. I don't have any paper sectionals with flyways on the back, but I was looking at a sectional on GP that should have one but I couldn't figure out if it's actually in GP or not.
     
  6. eman1200

    eman1200 Final Approach

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2013
    Messages:
    6,973
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    eman1200
    knock on wood so far I haven't had issues just renewing my subscription, but I did recently get a new iPhone and lemme tell ya how much fun THAT was.......GP allows you 2 devices but I had a world of trouble getting the old one zapped and the new one recognized. GP support helped me out but be forewarned.....if u get a new device, don't switch just before a trip.
     
  7. lziegenhals

    lziegenhals Pre-Flight PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2013
    Messages:
    33
    Location:
    Boerne, Texas
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Lee Z
    Not that I know of, or at least I've never found them if they are. They do have the TAC charts as you noted, and merge them nicely with the sectionals, but it doesn't look like the flyway charts are included.
     
  8. RotorDude

    RotorDude Pattern Altitude

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2014
    Messages:
    2,316
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    GliderDude
    Latest Garmin Pilot Android 5.4.1 includes a fairly comprehensive flight logging feature, including auto-logging. Have only glanced at it, but wondering if anybody knows more about it?

    Edit: Flew one flight with it today, and the auto-log seemed to work. AFAICT it's very similar to the iPad version described here. Jury still out as to overall utility, but it has definite promise.
     
    Last edited: Jul 27, 2016
  9. Jay Honeck

    Jay Honeck Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,385
    Location:
    Port Aransas, TX
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Jay Honeck
    Anyone else see this today?

    I tried to start GP before a dinner flight, and it locked up at this screen. This is the screen one normally gets after a new installation.

    Nothing else worked to fix it, so I did a complete uninstall/reinstall. It seems fine now.

    Weird.

    [​IMG]
     
  10. Matthew

    Matthew Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2005
    Messages:
    12,767
    Location:
    kojc, kixd, k34
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Matthew
    Version 5.4.3 here. Just tried it, saw nothing out of the ordinary.
     
  11. eman1200

    eman1200 Final Approach

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2013
    Messages:
    6,973
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    eman1200
    Jay, don't you almost always have issues when a new version comes out? I know my brain is fried, but I feel like maybe it's you who often posts issues initially but then gets it working.
     
  12. RotorDude

    RotorDude Pattern Altitude

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2014
    Messages:
    2,316
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    GliderDude
    Garmin Pilot 5.4.3 on Nexus 7, latest Android 6.0.1. Generally running OK, though have seen some random crashes lately. The good thing is that after a crash it starts right up again. Still that's a bit unseemly, and I hope they are working on it (though I can't swear it's not the underlying OS or hardware).
     
  13. Ghery

    Ghery Final Approach

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2005
    Messages:
    8,724
    Location:
    Olympia, Washington
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Ghery Pettit
    About a month ago I found a Samsung Galaxy Tab A for $189.99 at Costco. A Nexus 7 with an 8 inch display in terms of features. One problem, it only has 16 GBytes of storage. If you run Garmin Pilot with a full load of charts, etc., that isn't enough. No problem, however. They also had 64 GByte uSD cards for $19.99. And the Tab A has a uSD card slot. So, for just under $210 I've got an 8 inch table with tons of storage. Works like gangbusters. Off to the races again. :D
     
    biplanebob likes this.
  14. Jay Honeck

    Jay Honeck Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,385
    Location:
    Port Aransas, TX
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Jay Honeck
    Mmmm...don't think so? GP has been rock solid stable.

    This was a weird glitch. Only thing I can think of is that I was cleaning up a bunch of old files on my SD card (where GP resides), and may have wiped something I shouldn't have. Only thing is, I've run it since then, no problem.

    After a reinstall, everything is fine.
     
  15. eman1200

    eman1200 Final Approach

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2013
    Messages:
    6,973
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    eman1200
    hhmm, maybe I'm thinking of someone else. someone who seems to have an issue installing the updates, but after a reinstall it works fine.
     
  16. Jay Honeck

    Jay Honeck Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,385
    Location:
    Port Aransas, TX
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Jay Honeck
    lol Might have been me. There's only been a hundred upgrades since 2012.

    All is well now.
     
  17. RotorDude

    RotorDude Pattern Altitude

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2014
    Messages:
    2,316
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    GliderDude
    Hi Guys/Gals,
    I am still evaluating the new Pilot Logbook functionality included in the latest Garmin Pilot Android App (version 5.4.4), which superficially seems fairly full-featured. But I don't currently use an e-logbook, and was wondering how this package compares to the other offerings that are out there (besides being effectively free to GPA users). Is there anybody who has actually used this new feature who is also familiar with the other solutions?
     
    Last edited: Sep 28, 2016
  18. Jay Honeck

    Jay Honeck Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,385
    Location:
    Port Aransas, TX
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Jay Honeck
    Note the restaurant on the field info for this airport. I just discovered it, called the number -- and learned that this restaurant closed 9 years ago!

    Anyone got a Garmin email address to submit corrections to their database?

    [​IMG]
     
  19. denverpilot

    denverpilot Taxi to Parking

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    40,950
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    DenverPilot
    "Dimmit County" sounds like someone trying to get past a naughty word filter. LOL. Dimmit!
     
    Jay Honeck likes this.
  20. lziegenhals

    lziegenhals Pre-Flight PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2013
    Messages:
    33
    Location:
    Boerne, Texas
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Lee Z
    I think Garmin uses the AOPA airport database, so I went to the AOPA airport directory entry for KCZT (https://www.aopa.org/airports/KCZT#businesses) and sure enough, the Blue Nest is listed there.

    There is a link to post comments about the airport, but I don't see any way to submit corrections.

    Lee
     
  21. Jay Honeck

    Jay Honeck Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,385
    Location:
    Port Aransas, TX
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Jay Honeck
    Ah, thanks.

    With more and more small airports falling into disuse and disarray, the airport managers (if they even have one) are simply not keeping up with the questionnaires they need to fill out for this sort of stuff. Heck, half the time they don't do NOTAMs (or cancel them) anymore.
     
  22. denverpilot

    denverpilot Taxi to Parking

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    40,950
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    DenverPilot
    I've seen disuse, but not much disarray. You seeing much of the latter?
     
  23. Jay Honeck

    Jay Honeck Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,385
    Location:
    Port Aransas, TX
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Jay Honeck
    Yeah, we're seeing more and more grass not being mowed, weeds in cracks, lights burnt out -- that sort of thing. Not at our field, but at some of the rural airports in South Texas.

    Makes sense. Sooner or later, taxpayers get tired of paying for that sort of stuff when there's no one flying. :(
     
  24. RotorDude

    RotorDude Pattern Altitude

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2014
    Messages:
    2,316
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    GliderDude
    New Garmin Pilot Android version 5.5.0 has just been released OTA. Its highlights are "Nearest navigation", "Airspace altitude labels" and "Highest point along route". All seem to work on my desk.
    As a curiosity, Lockheed Martin's name has been changed to "leidos".
     
  25. farmerbrake

    farmerbrake Line Up and Wait

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2014
    Messages:
    573
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    farmerbrake
    Yeah not sure when the LHM name changed, it's within the last month or so.

    But back to GP, does anyone know how to get information on MOA on gp? Heights, controllers, etc.
     
  26. RotorDude

    RotorDude Pattern Altitude

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2014
    Messages:
    2,316
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    GliderDude
    Not sure what you mean, but when I click on a MOA in GP Android, I see for example:
    MISTY1 MOA
    MILITARY OPERATIONS AREA
    4000 to 18000 ft
    FAA CLEVELAND ARTCC

    Flying near that area you can ask any ATC (e.g. while VFR FF) about its status.
     
  27. farmerbrake

    farmerbrake Line Up and Wait

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2014
    Messages:
    573
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    farmerbrake
    I didn't know if they would have the active times or not.
    But you did answer my question! I thought I had tried that and couldn't get it to work.
     
  28. denverpilot

    denverpilot Taxi to Parking

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    40,950
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    DenverPilot
    SAIC spun off their mostly non-spook side of IT stuff, called it Leidos...

    Claim was that SAIC old school gub'mint and new IT stuff got in each other's way due to silos and compartmentalIzing.

    SAIC was expected to do worse than Leidos. Real world, it went the other way. Nobody paid any attention to brand recognition. Government buyers had no idea who Leidos was.

    Leidos decided to buy Lockmart's government IT "stuff"... LockMart's "Information Systems & Global Solutions" division...

    So LockMart made up a company name (Abacus) and spun that stuff into it along with allowing shareholders to snag a little stock from it if they wanted and while supplies lasted(TM).

    Between over a billion in cash and over four billion in Leidos buying all the Abacus shares, the shareholders who held Abacus made 27% overnight and it was gone.

    Basically made the whole thing non-taxable for LockMart.

    LockMart stock went nowhere even after a billion dollars in cash showed up out of thin air.

    Some say it fell a little, others say that's just the people who wanted Abacus shares who didn't get them, bailing. Either story isn't great for LockMart shareholders.

    Analysis appear to have no real idea what to make of it other than a bunch of old Generals job swapping and creating new company names and a limited number of people finding a wicked interesting way to suck every last dime of shareholder value out of LockMart -- while even all the new bosses are saying in public interviews that everyone working for all those places is also completely confused. (And probably got nothing out of any of it.)

    There's more to this corporate shell game than meets the eye, that's for sure.

    Leidos and LockMart are doing relatively poorly from it all. SAIC is doing far better than anyone expected.
     
  29. farmerbrake

    farmerbrake Line Up and Wait

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2014
    Messages:
    573
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    farmerbrake
    Does anyone know the current differences between iOS and Android?
    Tried looking at the online manuals but it seems they may be lacking some features (specifically the log book feature on android, not that that really matters)?
     
  30. Van Johnston

    Van Johnston Line Up and Wait

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2012
    Messages:
    668
    Location:
    South Texas
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Van Johnston
    A new iOS version came out this week too. New features: W&B, checklists, ability to add climb, cruise, and descent performance to improve ETE and fuel burn calcs, a function they call Freehand which allows you to trace your desired route with your finger and it picks up the airports, navaids, and waypoints and puts them your flight plan, and customizable home screen icons that allows you to move or hide icons.
     
  31. RotorDude

    RotorDude Pattern Altitude

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2014
    Messages:
    2,316
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    GliderDude
    Not sure what you mean by "lacking ... log book feature on android". The Android version has had a fairly robust logbook capability for a while, with both manual and auto updating. I have asked for others on this thread to comment on that feature when it came out, but haven't seen any replies.
     
  32. farmerbrake

    farmerbrake Line Up and Wait

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2014
    Messages:
    573
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    farmerbrake
    I mean when trying to compare the differences between iOS and Android GP.
    I know Android GP has the logbook feature. But according to their online manual it doesn't list it.
     
  33. RotorDude

    RotorDude Pattern Altitude

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2014
    Messages:
    2,316
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    GliderDude
    Yeah, I wouldn't rely on the manuals for comparison, since either one can be randomly incomplete or out of date.
     
  34. Matthew

    Matthew Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2005
    Messages:
    12,767
    Location:
    kojc, kixd, k34
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Matthew
    The 'droid version logbook showed up a few versions ago. I haven't used it yet, it's there, but it's just one more thing that I have to learn and remember how to use.
     
  35. farmerbrake

    farmerbrake Line Up and Wait

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2014
    Messages:
    573
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    farmerbrake
    Yeah that's what I kinda figured.
     
  36. RotorDude

    RotorDude Pattern Altitude

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2014
    Messages:
    2,316
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    GliderDude
    Same here, except that it generates all my entries automatically. Don't recall if that was the default or if I had to turn it on.
     
  37. Matthew

    Matthew Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2005
    Messages:
    12,767
    Location:
    kojc, kixd, k34
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Matthew
    I think it's on by default. I looked at it after a flight one time, and saw a lot of settings for having it auto record. It was close on the "Hobbs" time, but not quite. There is a field where you can add an extra couple of tenths each time so you can try to calibrate it.
     
  38. Jay Honeck

    Jay Honeck Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,385
    Location:
    Port Aransas, TX
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Jay Honeck
    It's probably like the logbook feature in my EFIS. It doesn't start recording your flight until it senses that you're above "x" knots. This eliminates all the time spent taxiing, doing your run up, etc.

    As much as I love computers and various gadgets, I still use the clock, and a hand-written logbook.
     
  39. Matthew

    Matthew Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2005
    Messages:
    12,767
    Location:
    kojc, kixd, k34
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Matthew
    Yeah, it triggers on a flying speed threashold, an AGL threshold, and a verical speed threshold. You can add a value for taxi time. You can have it merge different legs into a single flight if the break is less than a setpoint (example: kabc - kxyz - kabc with a stop and go at kxyz) Do you want that logged as two legs or one? What if you do 3 stop and goes for night pax currency?
     
  40. RotorDude

    RotorDude Pattern Altitude

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2014
    Messages:
    2,316
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    GliderDude
    I have not found this feature useful, except as an extra backup to my other manual and automated logging systems. YMMV.

    BTW, one neat method that I use for simple backup flight duration logging (in case other systems fail) is a free Android app that logs the battery charge voltage/current and its source type. I can then deduce from this log when exactly the Master was turned on and off, from the way it was charging the tablet. I have had to rely on this for flight logging at one time when other logging systems (like my JPI EDM and GPS) had failed.