Garmin Pilot for Android -- Tech Support, Tips, Tricks

Discussion in 'Technical Corner' started by Jay Honeck, Jan 17, 2013.

  1. Jay Honeck

    Jay Honeck Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,198
    Location:
    Port Aransas, TX
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Jay Honeck
    This product has been out for 5 months now, and gone through many updates as more and more pilots have adopted the terrific Nexus 7 tablet/GDL-39 ADS-B receiver combo. As I write this, Garmin is up to version 2.2.1 (24).

    Let's use this thread to exchange information and our experiences while using this amazingly affordable, yet extremely high-tech instrumentation.
     
  2. Jay Honeck

    Jay Honeck Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,198
    Location:
    Port Aransas, TX
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Jay Honeck
    I finally flew with the latest update yesterday, and it was mixture of "Gee whiz!" and "Oh, crap!"

    First, the new split screen is great and, for the most part, useless. It's cool to see the little six-pack instruments working, but does it get us much of any utility? Nah.

    The addition of "Track Up", on the other hand, is wonderful! Although one thing I sort of forgot was that "track up" on a moving sectional chart means that the writing will be sideways or upside down a good portion of the time. In other moving maps (like my 496) the writing continually auto-corrects so that it's readable -- something that would be extremely difficult to achieve with a sectional map.

    As always, I forgot to pair my Bluetooth GDL-39 with the Nexus 7 before departure. This doesn't impact the moving map (the N7's internal GPS works fine) but there is no traffic without it. As usual, this proved to be a pain in the butt to do in-flight. For whatever reason, the Garmin GDL-39 isn't always easy to pair with the N7. I have many other Bluetooth devices (keyboards, headphones, speakers, etc.) and they all pair effortlessly with the N7, so I believe the problem is on the Garmin side.

    Everything worked as normal for nearly an hour -- until it didn't. As has happened on my last several flights, the Garmin app simply stopped working, with an error message popping up apologizing and asking if I wanted to report the failure.

    At this point I usually say "no", the app closes, and I reopen it. This time, however, I could not reopen it without it instantly failing/closing. Bad, bad, BAD, in flight.

    So...that was the "Oh, crap" moment. Although Garmin has come a very long way with this app, in a very short period, they still have some stability issues to iron out. I am sure I could have futzed with it more and got it working again (it's working fine now, in my living room), but I was entering the pattern and didn't want to mess with it.

    I've sent the crash report to Garmin. I hope they work it out in the next update!
     
  3. LDJones

    LDJones Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2011
    Messages:
    10,741
    Location:
    Twin Cities, MN
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Jonesy
    I always say "yes" to that prompt....there is no way they can ever fix a problem about which they know nothing. I figure the more error reports the faster the fix.
     
  4. Jay Honeck

    Jay Honeck Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,198
    Location:
    Port Aransas, TX
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Jay Honeck
    And I did send the crash report -- once I landed. You can't say "Yes" to that prompt without it trying to instantly send the report, which doesn't work in-flight.
     
  5. Badger

    Badger Pattern Altitude

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2011
    Messages:
    1,678
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Badger
    Version 2.2.2 (25) is current for Android
     
  6. CT4ME

    CT4ME Cleared for Takeoff

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2011
    Messages:
    1,158
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    CT4ME
    WingX has the text of the database elements rotate when in track-up, so reading is easier. Maybe GP will incorporate this feature in the future.
     
  7. Matthew

    Matthew Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2005
    Messages:
    11,573
    Location:
    kojc, kixd, k34
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Matthew
    I'm heading to the airport right now to give it my first in-flight test.
     
  8. Matthew

    Matthew Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2005
    Messages:
    11,573
    Location:
    kojc, kixd, k34
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Matthew
    Just got back - 1.2 on the Hobbs.

    I tried track-up, but because the GarminPilot was acting as my sectional, I had to switch it back to north-up since that's the way I usually hold my paper sectional. I turned off the split screen. Without a mount of any kind, I kept the Nexus in my lap or tucked loosely in my kneeboard pocket. The only problem I had with that arrangement was that I sometimes hit the power switch or changed screens accidentally.

    I set the timeout value to 30 minutes on the Nexus display setting. That, combined with me accidentally touching the screen each time I picked it up, kept the device from going to sleep.

    I hit 3 airports during my flight, so I didn't have too much free time to play with it in-flight.

    --

    But I did get to check out the insides of one of the life-flight helicopters that had stopped for fuel, check out the jet that was loading up with someone from the University of Arkansas (I think he was a coach on a recruiting trip) and the Navy jet trainer that took off right in front of me.
     
  9. Jay Honeck

    Jay Honeck Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,198
    Location:
    Port Aransas, TX
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Jay Honeck
    Wow! That update hit after I posted this thread. Boy, Garmin just keeps cranking out these auto-updates!
     
  10. LDJones

    LDJones Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2011
    Messages:
    10,741
    Location:
    Twin Cities, MN
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Jonesy
    You can say yes anytime. It will hang onto it til you connect again...I'm pretty sure.
     
  11. Marauder

    Marauder Cleared for Takeoff

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2012
    Messages:
    1,461
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Marauder
    You sleeping at the switch Jay? That update hit last night ;) I was hoping that 2.2.2 had the latest iPad version updates, it didn't :(
     
  12. LDJones

    LDJones Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2011
    Messages:
    10,741
    Location:
    Twin Cities, MN
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Jonesy
    I, too, used the split screen flying today. Loved it! I set the SmartTaxi to auto appear and it was great. I also like splitting between map and approach plate.

    Excellent upgrade.
     
  13. Matthew

    Matthew Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2005
    Messages:
    11,573
    Location:
    kojc, kixd, k34
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Matthew
    Auto appear?
     
  14. Jay Honeck

    Jay Honeck Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,198
    Location:
    Port Aransas, TX
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Jay Honeck
    Yeah, Pilot had that feature even before we got split screen. When you land at a large(r) airport that has the Safe Taxi diagram, the screen would automatically go to it after landing.

    Now, with the split screen activated it presumably only shows it on the bottom half.
     
  15. Marauder

    Marauder Cleared for Takeoff

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2012
    Messages:
    1,461
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Marauder
    It can be found in the settings section of the app.
     
  16. Marauder

    Marauder Cleared for Takeoff

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2012
    Messages:
    1,461
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Marauder
    Under the General Settings tab. Allows Safe Taxi to turn on when below 40 knots.

    Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk HD
     
  17. Matthew

    Matthew Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2005
    Messages:
    11,573
    Location:
    kojc, kixd, k34
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Matthew
    Ahh - I don't know how I missed that. I don't have the Safe Taxi subscription, so it won't do me much good. But, I do seem to have one Safe Taxi chart for KIXD. Maybe they threw it in for free. It's helpful, since that's my airport these days - but I really don't need it because I'm already familiar... Anyway, you'll notice that KIXD shows up a lot in the Garmin documentation - that happens to be the airport where their flight test facility and a lot of their avionics engineers are.
     
  18. Marauder

    Marauder Cleared for Takeoff

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2012
    Messages:
    1,461
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Marauder
    I'm sure that is why you got it for free! I haven't seen too much Garmin gives away for free. I have the Safe Taxi subscription. It is a mixed bags for me. A few of the airports I fly to regularly have it, but I already know the airport. It did come in handy at one airport that had a confusing taxi way. For the price, I will keep it on my mobile device. I certainly won't pay for it on my GTN 650.
     
  19. Matthew

    Matthew Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2005
    Messages:
    11,573
    Location:
    kojc, kixd, k34
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Matthew
    RE: Nexus sleep mode

    The Nexus will sleep on the setting for the display. This will happen when GarminPilot is active.

    Here's what Garmin says about it:

    "The application is designed to have the screen stay on while you are in flight.* If the application detects that you are moving over 40kts the screen will stay on and not go to sleep.
    *
    You could also in the settings of the Nexus 7 change the time for the back light so it does not time out, but the application if it detects movement will keep the screen from going to sleep."

    That explains why it sleeps on my desk but not in flight. Like me.
     
    Last edited: Jan 18, 2013
  20. roddie

    roddie Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2012
    Messages:
    163
    Location:
    Frisco, TX
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    roddie
    Makes sense, in a way, but it would be nice to be able to adjust the trigger speed (or set it to 0) from within the app itself. I'm sure they'll add it eventually.
     
  21. LDJones

    LDJones Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2011
    Messages:
    10,741
    Location:
    Twin Cities, MN
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Jonesy
    I'm just the opposite. :lol:
     
  22. Jay Honeck

    Jay Honeck Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,198
    Location:
    Port Aransas, TX
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Jay Honeck
    Anyone flown with the newest new update? It says it fixes several different crashes -- which hopefully means the app won't freeze up on me again.
     
  23. roddie

    roddie Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2012
    Messages:
    163
    Location:
    Frisco, TX
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    roddie
    Flying with it tomorrow (also my first x-c since getting my cert). I wish the X-grip had arrived by now, but for now I'll have to just carry it in my lap.
     
  24. aviatingfool

    aviatingfool Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2012
    Messages:
    201
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    aviatingfool
    A little help guys. I am trying to understand the demo and after a half hour of fiddling around trying to get a short flight plan entered it says I need to file a flight plan to get a log, is that true?
     
  25. Jay Honeck

    Jay Honeck Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,198
    Location:
    Port Aransas, TX
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Jay Honeck
    Um, I'm not sure I understand the question. What do you mean "Get a log"?
     
  26. Goofy

    Goofy Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2011
    Messages:
    402
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Goofy
    Jay, am just trying to do a simple flight plan. Took me almost a half hour to get three points. Believe me, I'm not a moron and have been doing flight planning on software for years. Seemed absolutely UN-intuitive to finally get to that point! Then there is no flight log, i.e. distance, time, fuel burn - nothing. Keep getting a screen that wants DUATS input. Keep trying to cancel that and still get nowhere. Finally found something that said to "file then a flight log would be generated". Very frustrating. Nothing at all like planning on my 496 or Seattle Avionics or FltPlan.com or.....
    Also, played with a Nexus 32 at Office Max and could not find any indication of GPS on it like I have on my Galaxy S3. Is it an option?
    Thanks for the advice!
     
  27. Matthew

    Matthew Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2005
    Messages:
    11,573
    Location:
    kojc, kixd, k34
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Matthew
    There is a nav log that gets displayed at the bottom of the trip planning page. You'll probably have to scroll the lower half of the page where it says "flight summary."



    Edit: that screen also shows fuel burn and all the other info you are looking for.
     
    Last edited: Jan 18, 2013
  28. LDJones

    LDJones Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2011
    Messages:
    10,741
    Location:
    Twin Cities, MN
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Jonesy
    Flown with it several times with no glitches.
     
  29. LDJones

    LDJones Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2011
    Messages:
    10,741
    Location:
    Twin Cities, MN
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Jonesy
    Yes, but only shows active in status bar when an app is using GPS.
     
  30. aviatingfool

    aviatingfool Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2012
    Messages:
    201
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    aviatingfool
    Found it, thank you!
     
  31. Jay Honeck

    Jay Honeck Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,198
    Location:
    Port Aransas, TX
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Jay Honeck
    Try this:

    - Home (upper left button)
    - Active flight plan
    - Enter your to/from airport identifiers (or more, if you have multiple destinations/waypoints)
    - Done

    That's all there is to it.

    All N7s have an excellent built-in GPS receiver.
     
  32. Jay Honeck

    Jay Honeck Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,198
    Location:
    Port Aransas, TX
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Jay Honeck
    Sweet. My next chance is Sunday. Will report back.
     
  33. roddie

    roddie Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2012
    Messages:
    163
    Location:
    Frisco, TX
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    roddie
    Flew from KTKI to KSSF today with the latest version, and the XGPS150. This was actually my first trip using Pilot for navigation. Good trip, and great app.
     
  34. Jay Honeck

    Jay Honeck Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,198
    Location:
    Port Aransas, TX
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Jay Honeck
    Just flew two flawless hours with the latest update -- woot! No more forced closings.

    And...as I'm tinkering around with stuff while we droned down the barrier island chain, I found this little button: "show traffic". Hmmm...let's select it and see...

    Sure enough -- live ADS-B traffic is now overlaid on the moving map sectional! It shows a little moving diamond for each target, and a positive or negative number depicting the target's altitude relative to you. Touch the diamond and it shows everything known, including closing speed.

    Double woot! Previously to get this info you had to toggle to a different screen, which meant it just didn't get used much. This is the best update yet.

    Of course, you're still not going to get much traffic info until more planes have ADS-B squitters, but I was in the Houston area, so we had enough activity to trigger the ground stations.

    Very, very cool update, Garmin!
     
  35. LDJones

    LDJones Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2011
    Messages:
    10,741
    Location:
    Twin Cities, MN
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Jonesy
    Are you using the GDL-39? I really want to get an ADS-B unit but would prefer one useable by either Garmin or ForeFlight. I guess I better not hold my breath. I'm a ForeFlight lover but Garmin is coming on so strong and the Nexus hardware so cheap that you could fly with a pair of them for the cost of one iPad.

    Hmmmm...
     
  36. Jay Honeck

    Jay Honeck Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,198
    Location:
    Port Aransas, TX
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Jay Honeck
    Yup, i fly with the GDL-39. When combined with the Nexus 7 it gives us capabilities that were pipe dreams just a few years ago.
     
  37. Matthew

    Matthew Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2005
    Messages:
    11,573
    Location:
    kojc, kixd, k34
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Matthew
    Can one Bluetooth receiver be tied to two devices? Say a 496 and a Nexus 7 (that is, if the 496 foes Bluetooth.)
     
    Last edited: Jan 20, 2013
  38. Jay Honeck

    Jay Honeck Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,198
    Location:
    Port Aransas, TX
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Jay Honeck
    496 has no Bluetooth, but aside from that I'm not sure.
     
  39. Matthew

    Matthew Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2005
    Messages:
    11,573
    Location:
    kojc, kixd, k34
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Matthew
    Ehh - I just realized that, and was editing my post when you responded. Thanks anyway.
     
  40. Matthew

    Matthew Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2005
    Messages:
    11,573
    Location:
    kojc, kixd, k34
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Matthew
    What's the bare minimum to get traffic on the Nexus? One of my glider club buddies uses a portable traffic alert when he flies. It keys off of xponders. Is the only thing out there for a Nexus an ADSB unit?