GAL LEON

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
LEONGALANTE
hi guys ,
im currently studying for my check ride and I couldn't get a straight answer from my instructor .
1. is it legal to use FAR/AIM to answer the examiner questions ?
2. when is it too much using of FAR in a check ride ?
3. if its legal to use FAR/AIM on an exam , can it be used on a computer or should it be an hard copy. ?
4. any recommendations or suggestions on how to memorize and study for the exam ?

thank you all ! ,
Leon

Yes, you can refer to the FAR/AIM on your check ride oral, but you can’t use it for the written.

But I would encourage you to become very familiar with the FAR/AIM prior to the check ride. Whereas you can refer to it legally, if you have to refer to it often, it may have a negative impact on your check ride.

I’d go through and tab the FAR/AIM as an exercise. By doing that, it forces you to read it and you’ll be able to recall key sections easier.

Good luck.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

It does not matter if the FAR/AIM are digital or book.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

hi guys ,
im currently studying for my check ride and I couldn't get a straight answer from my instructor .
3. if its legal to use FAR/AIM on an exam , can it be used on a computer or should it be an hard copy. ?
4. any recommendations or suggestions on how to memorize and study for the exam ?

thank you all ! ,
Leon

It was a long time ago I had my CPL check ride, personal computers hadn’t been invented yet. I was asked a question I didn’t remember the exact answer to, probably just what the ‘number’ was. I grabbed the FAR book and went right to about where it was. Didn’t have to start at the beginning, xxx.1 and start searching. When he saw I knew where to go he said ok and moved on to the next question without answering that one. That was then and that particular examiner so take this with a grain of salt.

The written is closed-book.