USE OF FAR/AIM ON CPL ORAL EXAM

Discussion in 'Pilot Training' started by GAL LEON, Aug 10, 2019.

1. GAL LEON

GAL LEON Filing Flight Plan

Display Name:

Display name:
    LEONGALANTE
    hi guys ,
    im currently studying for my check ride and I couldn't get a straight answer from my instructor .
    1. is it legal to use FAR/AIM to answer the examiner questions ?
    2. when is it too much using of FAR in a check ride ?
    3. if its legal to use FAR/AIM on an exam , can it be used on a computer or should it be an hard copy. ?
    4. any recommendations or suggestions on how to memorize and study for the exam ?

thank you all ! ,
    Leon

2. ttexrbomb

ttexrbomb Filing Flight Plan

Display Name:

Display name:
    Ryan
    Yes, you can refer to the FAR/AIM on your check ride oral, but you can’t use it for the written.

But I would encourage you to become very familiar with the FAR/AIM prior to the check ride. Whereas you can refer to it legally, if you have to refer to it often, it may have a negative impact on your check ride.

I’d go through and tab the FAR/AIM as an exercise. By doing that, it forces you to read it and you’ll be able to recall key sections easier.

Good luck.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

GAL LEON and benyflyguy like this.
  3. ttexrbomb

ttexrbomb Filing Flight Plan

Display Name:

Display name:
    Ryan
    It does not matter if the FAR/AIM are digital or book.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

GAL LEON likes this.
  4. Mtns2Skies

Mtns2Skies Super Moderator Management Council Member PoA Supporter

Display Name:

Display name:
    Mtns2Skies
    How did you do it on your Private/Instrument check rides?

GAL LEON likes this.
  5. luvflyin

luvflyin Final Approach

Display Name:

Display name:
    Luvflyin