Straux on Avare

Discussion in 'Avionics and Upgrades' started by Kumaran Srinivasan, Nov 28, 2018.

?

Which ADSB in is better

  1. Stratus

  2. Stratux

Results are only viewable after voting.
  1. Kumaran Srinivasan

    Kumaran Srinivasan Filing Flight Plan

    Joined:
    May 24, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Kumaran Srinivasan
    Hi.
    I have been using Avare for more than 5 years & it's been very stable.
    Now im thinking of adding an ADSB in

    I heard a lot about Stratux

    If anyone is using Stratux on an Avare, I could clear some doubts.

    1.Does this connect only via WiFi or it can connect via Bluetooth too.

    2.Does this only show the Traffic of planes with ADSB out or it also shows all planes with transponders

    3.Does it also show planes without transponders ( if we are near atc tower)

    4.Is it better to buy an assembled kit on Amazon or it does not make a difference if we assemble the same.

    Thanks kindly.
     
  2. Pat Elliott

    Pat Elliott Pre-Flight

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2016
    Messages:
    59
    Location:
    Southern Oregon Coast
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    pa24-180
    1. WiFi only..
    2. ADSB out -yes all transponders: maybe, it's complicated.
    3. No
    4. it's not complicated to build. save yourself $100..
     
  3. cgrab

    cgrab Pattern Altitude

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Messages:
    2,151
    Location:
    Huntsville AL
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    cgrab
    I have the Avare - Stratux setup. I have a Pi 2 so I had to add a wifi USB chip to get the signal out. The PI 3 has that built in. I use a separate app called Avare External I/O Plugin and it has a Wifi or Bluetooth option.

    The process is to turn on the Stratux, start the plugin and wait until it shows that it is receiving info, then start Avare. I see everything the radar sees when it responds to an ADSB-out signal. I don't have out yet.

    In the picture you can see my tablet and the Statux mounted in the corner of the window. I got the case with the fan to keep it cool. The antenna is Velcro'd to the carpet on the dash.
     

    Attached Files:

  4. Raymo

    Raymo Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    May 29, 2018
    Messages:
    361
    Location:
    Richmond Hill
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Raymo
    I voted Stratus because it provides AHRS and WAAS GPS. If all you want/need is traffic and WX, the Stratux is all you need. I think they have or will soon have GPS with the Stratux too.
     
  5. cgrab

    cgrab Pattern Altitude

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Messages:
    2,151
    Location:
    Huntsville AL
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    cgrab
    Statux has AHRS but I've never used it. Click the PFD tab
     
  6. EppyGA

    EppyGA Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Messages:
    10,667
    Location:
    Hoschton, GA
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Let's Fly
  7. Chip Sylverne

    Chip Sylverne Final Approach

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2006
    Messages:
    5,162
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Fear is the poison of our lives.
    I get my ads-B wx tfc on AVARE via inboard UAT, but the idea of a BT back-up AHRS sounds interesting. Does Stratux have a BT ahrs only unit, without the ads-B receiver?
     
  8. GLMS_NC

    GLMS_NC Line Up and Wait

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2015
    Messages:
    518
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Rick
    Two concerns with Stratus:

    1. Charge port failures and repair costs.
    2. Cost. Way over priced.

    Stratux all the way.
     
  9. asicer

    asicer Final Approach

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2015
    Messages:
    6,033
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    asicer
    I thought Avare version 8.0.1 integrated the WiFi communications portion of the IO app so that you can get ADS-B/GPS directly (i.e. no more external IO plugin app necessary)?
     
  10. dmspilot

    dmspilot En-Route

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2006
    Messages:
    4,233
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Display name:
    Don't see why you can't just assemble a Stratux without an ADS-B receiver. The AHRS requires a GPS input but not ADS-B as far as I know.
     
  11. DaleB

    DaleB En-Route

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2011
    Messages:
    4,753
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    DaleB
    I didn't even consider Stratus due to the ridiculous cost. Stratux does everything I need it to do. I honestly don't use it a whole lot now, since I don't have ADS-B OUT, so I'm generally without IN coverage.
     
  12. cgrab

    cgrab Pattern Altitude

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Messages:
    2,151
    Location:
    Huntsville AL
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    cgrab
    I guess it is time to upgrade.