SID selection & Clearance Delivery

JetMechPilot

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
JetMechPilot
Good evening folks,

I'm a novice IR pilot and have some "real world" questions:

In one of the IFR handbooks, there is a statement: The DP enables a pilot to study and understand the details of a departure before filing an IFR flight plan.

Question 1: But if I was going to put a SID in my flight plan, how would I know which one to even do? Nashville for example has 12.

Question 2: So say I pick one, and instead they give me a different one. Without memorizing all of them, I'd have to look that one up and see if I could meet the climb requirements and try to study the thing. When on with CD, how long will they give you to advise? Is sitting there looking it all up for 30 seconds gonna **** everyone off?

Question 1: But if I was going to put a SID in my flight plan, how would I know which one to even do? Nashville for example has 12.
If you use ForeFlight, they have a feature that shows the SIDs and STARs graphically.

That helps me know which procedure applies to my needs.

one of my gripes about looking up DP's is you have to go thru all of them to find out which ones apply to pistons. I wish they'd just make some kind of note somehow so I don't have to waste time looking at 'turbojet only' dp's. however, I never file a DP, I just file my flight plan and take any dp they give me. look it up under 'charts' in garmin pilot, punch it into the 650 if I feel I need to, then go. most of the time I don't even have to do that.

Question 2: So say I pick one, and instead they give me a different one. Without memorizing all of them, I'd have to look that one up and see if I could meet the climb requirements and try to study the thing. When on with CD, how long will they give you to advise? Is sitting there looking it all up for 30 seconds gonna **** everyone off?