Jake Simpson

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
cvgaviation
Hello all,

Looking into purchasing an Arrow III or similar aircraft. My question is how much more is the complex aspect going to cost me in annual inspection/annual mx expenses? How much is a typical annual inspection going to cost me? I'm also curious about insurance. I'm a private pilot with IFR and 250 hours, 120ish in PA28, and only around 5 in Arrows. I do have my complex endorsement. That being said, what would insurance costs look like?

Thanks!

Also: along with the insurance, would it be accurate to expect them requiring me to do 5-10 hours dual in the plane with a CFI before I can carry passengers?

When I called around for insurance for an Arrow, they were looking for 10 hours dual before being able to fly solo, with a minimum number of take offs and landings. I cannot remember but I would say 10-20 hours dual plus 20-30 takeoffs and landings depending upon the insurance company.

You can set an agreed upon hull value of the Arrow and that will determine the insurance premium. I believe I did a quote with 40k hull value with a premium of $1700/yr and a quote with 80k hull value with a premium of $2700/yr (two separate Arrows). My total flying time was about half that of yours when I requested the quotes, so I think you’ll have a slightly cheaper rate but I don’t think it will drop again until you have a commercial rating and more time in type.