Garmin G5 STC-ed for HSI

Discussion in 'Avionics and Upgrades' started by WannFly, Mar 29, 2017.

  1. WannFly

    WannFly En-Route

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2016
    Messages:
    4,071
    Location:
    KFAR
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    WannaFly
    https://www.aopa.org/news-and-media/all-news/2017/march/29/garmin-g5-hsi-receives-receives-stc

    The G5 had been approved in July 2016 as a non-technical standard order attitude indicator. The latest supplemental type certificate, announced March 29, expands that approval and enables aircraft owners to install two G5s and eliminate the dependency on the airplane’s vacuum system for attitude and heading information. When paired with select VHF nav/coms or GPS navigators, the G5 can be considered primary for displaying magnetic heading, VOR/LOC guidance, and/or GPS course guidance, as well as distance and groundspeed, Garmin said.
     
  2. labbadabba

    labbadabba Pattern Altitude

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2014
    Messages:
    2,246
    Location:
    Lawrence, KS
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    labbadabba
    Woah!! This is kind of a BFD.
     
    WannFly likes this.
  3. WannFly

    WannFly En-Route

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2016
    Messages:
    4,071
    Location:
    KFAR
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    WannaFly
    Now if they only came out with a cheaper GPS, but I can see why they wont...

    Sent from my SM-G935V using Tapatalk
     
  4. murphey

    murphey Final Approach PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Messages:
    8,373
    Location:
    Colorado
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    murphey
    Wonder which GPS? silly question, right?
     
  5. NealRomeoGolf

    NealRomeoGolf Cleared for Takeoff

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2016
    Messages:
    1,102
    Location:
    Illinois / Germany
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    NRG
    Holy crap my G5 is going in as we speak. Oh the temptation!
     
    denverpilot likes this.
  6. ZeroPapaGolf

    ZeroPapaGolf Line Up and Wait

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2011
    Messages:
    635
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    formerly 'cheap weenie'
    This, along with the original G5 STC, is a game-changer.
     
  7. bnt83

    bnt83 Final Approach PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2012
    Messages:
    8,408
    Location:
    Lincoln NE
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Brian
    I think its great. Only thing is, there are few aircraft out there that have a radio that can display VOR/GS information on a G5.

    The GTN and (new) GNC series do it over ARINC 429 which is wired to a converter, sending the information to the G5 on a CAN BUS.
     
  8. NealRomeoGolf

    NealRomeoGolf Cleared for Takeoff

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2016
    Messages:
    1,102
    Location:
    Illinois / Germany
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    NRG
    I was looking for the list. Where can I find it?
     
  9. bnt83

    bnt83 Final Approach PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2012
    Messages:
    8,408
    Location:
    Lincoln NE
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Brian
    They all start with a G.

    At this time I've never seen interface drawings for anything other Garmin avionics.

    The only way it might be possible to interface legacy analog stuff like Kings and whatnot might be the GAD42 converter, but I have doubts.
     
  10. bradg33

    bradg33 Cleared for Takeoff

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,438
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Esquire99
    Per the press release:
    GNS series
    GTN series
    GNC255
    SL-30

    That's it.
     
    bnt83 likes this.
  11. ZeroPapaGolf

    ZeroPapaGolf Line Up and Wait

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2011
    Messages:
    635
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    formerly 'cheap weenie'
    Even an old 430 or 530 would work, and those are very common.
     
    bnt83 likes this.
  12. bnt83

    bnt83 Final Approach PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2012
    Messages:
    8,408
    Location:
    Lincoln NE
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Brian
    And those use the same ARINC 429 interfaces as the GTN series.
     
    denverpilot and GRG55 like this.
  13. bnt83

    bnt83 Final Approach PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2012
    Messages:
    8,408
    Location:
    Lincoln NE
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Brian
    I think Dynon is the only one with a converter to display analog radios on their instrument
     
  14. scottfromboston

    scottfromboston Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010
    Messages:
    296
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Scott
    Wow. The HSI rebuilding industry just took a hit.

    I recently helped a friend install a G5 in his Mooney. Game-changer.
     
  15. NealRomeoGolf

    NealRomeoGolf Cleared for Takeoff

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2016
    Messages:
    1,102
    Location:
    Illinois / Germany
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    NRG
    I'll end up trading up to a faster plane before I do this in my Archer, since it doesn't have a GPS.
     
  16. RussR

    RussR Cleared for Takeoff

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    1,146
    Location:
    Oklahoma City, OK
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Russ
    Proprietary considerations aside, since it can display information from the 430/530, I'd hardly categorize that as "few". The 430 (W and non-W) is by far the most prevalent NAV/COM in all the owners' airplanes I teach in and have taught in over the past several years.
     
  17. bnt83

    bnt83 Final Approach PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2012
    Messages:
    8,408
    Location:
    Lincoln NE
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Brian
    I wouldn't be surprised if only WAAS ones could do it. Making the number of different models that can even smaller.

    Edit, It looks like non-waas can. The experimental G5 install manual shows that anyway
     
  18. RussR

    RussR Cleared for Takeoff

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    1,146
    Location:
    Oklahoma City, OK
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Russ
    Not just experimental. From the Garmin web page: http://newsroom.garmin.com/press-re...ectronic-flight-instrument-dghsi-certificated

    "When paired with the GTN™ 650/750, GNS™ 430W/530W or non-WAAS GNS 430/530 navigators, the G5 is approved as a primary source to display vertical and lateral GPS/VOR/LOC course deviation when available, as well as groundspeed and distance to the next waypoint."
     
    WannFly and bnt83 like this.
  19. James331

    James331 Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2014
    Messages:
    18,658
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    James331
  20. jordane93

    jordane93 Final Approach

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2013
    Messages:
    8,872
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Jordan
    Looks cool.
     
  21. bnt83

    bnt83 Final Approach PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2012
    Messages:
    8,408
    Location:
    Lincoln NE
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Brian
    Think I'm just gonna submit a field approval request for the experimental version that does both, but no replace any instruments with it.
     
  22. Stingray Don

    Stingray Don En-Route

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2014
    Messages:
    2,593
    Location:
    Indianapolis, Indiana
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Stingray Don
    Anybody know if the G5 heading bug will drive an STEC autopilot? Would love to replace my DG but it is driving the heading mode on the A/P.
     
  23. kgruber

    kgruber En-Route

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Messages:
    3,824
    Location:
    M94 Airport Manager
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Skywag
    Still won't do "Flight Director" or connect to most autopilots.

    Worthless!!
     
    arkvet likes this.
  24. WannFly

    WannFly En-Route

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2016
    Messages:
    4,071
    Location:
    KFAR
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    WannaFly
    can you do that for Certified planes?
     
  25. WannFly

    WannFly En-Route

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2016
    Messages:
    4,071
    Location:
    KFAR
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    WannaFly
    dont think its worthless. its great to see some options for older aircrafts and get some glass in and some backup etc
     
  26. bnt83

    bnt83 Final Approach PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2012
    Messages:
    8,408
    Location:
    Lincoln NE
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Brian
    I'm going to. I've already got a package written just gotta send it to the FSDO to get the ball rolling.
     
  27. WannFly

    WannFly En-Route

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2016
    Messages:
    4,071
    Location:
    KFAR
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    WannaFly
    keep us posted
     
  28. murphey

    murphey Final Approach PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Messages:
    8,373
    Location:
    Colorado
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    murphey
    Yaaaaaaa! Knew there was a reason I love that sl30! A fraction of the price of the Aspen.
     
    denverpilot likes this.
  29. murphey

    murphey Final Approach PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Messages:
    8,373
    Location:
    Colorado
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    murphey
    Groundspeed and distance. This means I can get rid of the DME, right?
     
  30. CameronS

    CameronS Filing Flight Plan

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2016
    Messages:
    20
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Cameron
    Very cool! My plane is in the shop as we speak getting this installed.
     
  31. MooneyDriver78

    MooneyDriver78 Pattern Altitude

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2013
    Messages:
    2,269
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Tom
    Short answer is NO
     
  32. cowman

    cowman En-Route PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2012
    Messages:
    3,876
    Location:
    Danger Zone
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Cowman
    Hey how complicated is hooking one of these up? I'd run it by my A&P as a replacement to my dying steam gauge AI and he said these things usually are really simple and just need a power hookup and that's all but he didn't know anything about the G5 specifically. I have a 430W that I guess needs to be linked to it somehow to get all the functionality. Is that more of an avionics shop job or is it in the domain of any A&P mechanic who has a clue?
     
  33. bnt83

    bnt83 Final Approach PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2012
    Messages:
    8,408
    Location:
    Lincoln NE
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Brian
    I'll be doing it with one hand.
     
  34. WannFly

    WannFly En-Route

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2016
    Messages:
    4,071
    Location:
    KFAR
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    WannaFly
    my A&P said its a Avoinics shop Q
     
  35. bnt83

    bnt83 Final Approach PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2012
    Messages:
    8,408
    Location:
    Lincoln NE
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Brian
    Which is probably most realistic since there is pitot/static system testing and/or a compass swing required
     
  36. murphey

    murphey Final Approach PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Messages:
    8,373
    Location:
    Colorado
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    murphey
    I just ordered two, installation in June. Now I need a cheap GPS source.
     
    WannFly likes this.
  37. arkvet

    arkvet Line Up and Wait

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2016
    Messages:
    776
    Location:
    Arkansas
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Brent
    This is awesome news!!! Too bad the G5 can't replace my King HSI that is coupled to my Century 41 AP. If it would talk to the AP I would order one today! Without that functionality it is absolutely worthless to me. Maybe someday that potential with be "unlocked". You know the ability has to be there. I already have one G5 for the AI. Heck if the HSI G5 would run the AP it would essentially be an Aspen.
     
    gsengle likes this.
  38. MooneyDriver78

    MooneyDriver78 Pattern Altitude

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2013
    Messages:
    2,269
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Tom
    It needs to be hooked up to the GPS, I would say that's a avionics shop job. Particularly a Garmin dealer.
     
  39. bradg33

    bradg33 Cleared for Takeoff

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,438
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Esquire99
    Not very. If your A&P knows how to crimp pins and build a d-sub connector, there's not much to it. Plumbing the pitot-static isn't hard either, though you'll need an appropriate repair station to take care of the post-install leak check.
     
    Kent.pals@gmail.com likes this.
  40. WannFly

    WannFly En-Route

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2016
    Messages:
    4,071
    Location:
    KFAR
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    WannaFly
    yeah he said something about he doesnt have a thing to check a thing in the pitot thing :p