Garmin G5 STC-ed for HSI

Discussion in 'Avionics and Upgrades' started by WannFly, Mar 29, 2017.

  1. kgruber

    kgruber En-Route

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Messages:
    3,197
    Location:
    Eastern Washington
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Skywag
    Again, you are in confusion mode about the differences in the experimental G5 and the STC'd model.
     
  2. ZeroPapaGolf

    ZeroPapaGolf Line Up and Wait

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2011
    Messages:
    514
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    formerly 'cheap weenie'
    Please provide a source for your information.
     
  3. WannFly

    WannFly Cleared for Takeoff PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2016
    Messages:
    1,309
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    WannaFly
    The yellow one is aircraft symbol in g 100p, I fly one, magenta is the FD

    Sent from my SM-G935V using Tapatalk
     
  4. murphey

    murphey Final Approach PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Messages:
    6,667
    Location:
    Colorado
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    murphey
    It's not a hazard to people who have never used a flight director, nor know what a flight director is.
     
  5. jimhorner

    jimhorner Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2012
    Messages:
    190
    Location:
    Santa Clara
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Jim Horner
    Maybe kgruber expects all Flight Directors to look like the following. In this ancient beast, the command bars are yellow and could look like the aircraft symbol that Garmin uses. However, it's been made abundantly clear that Garmin is defining the yellow symbol as the airplane, and any command bars in their systems are magenta. Insisting otherwise is beginning to fall into the realm of trolling or being deliberately dense.

    RTFM applies here...

    [​IMG]


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
     
  6. jimhorner

    jimhorner Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2012
    Messages:
    190
    Location:
    Santa Clara
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Jim Horner
    Only the experimental G5 has command bars. From the manual:

    [​IMG]

    They are magenta. Insisting that the yellow symbology represents command bars is just wrong. Read the manual.


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
     
  7. NealRomeoGolf

    NealRomeoGolf Line Up and Wait

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2016
    Messages:
    533
    Location:
    Illinois
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    NRG
    There is no flight director displayed on my STC'd G5.

    20170414_084934_resized.jpg
     
  8. ZeroPapaGolf

    ZeroPapaGolf Line Up and Wait

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2011
    Messages:
    514
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    formerly 'cheap weenie'
    Even that has the exact same two-tone design of the aircraft symbol that he claims is a FD.
     
  9. jimhorner

    jimhorner Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2012
    Messages:
    190
    Location:
    Santa Clara
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Jim Horner
    Not quite. The command bars in this old, mechanical Fd are yellow, and do have the appearance of the yellow airplane symbol in the G5. The airplane symbol in the G5 isn't the triangle of the G1000; it consists of two wedges which look sortta like the command bar in this instrument.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Still, the manual is clear on what the yellow G5 symbology represents, and it's ridiculous for the gruber guy to keep claiming something that is obviously incorrect given that Garmin clearly defines the command bars as magenta wedges (only exist for the experimental G5).

    [​IMG]


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
     
    Last edited: Apr 18, 2017
  10. bnt83

    bnt83 Final Approach

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2012
    Messages:
    6,653
    Location:
    Lincoln NE
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Brian
  11. bnt83

    bnt83 Final Approach

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2012
    Messages:
    6,653
    Location:
    Lincoln NE
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Brian
    Or those who can read and understand the manual. Ignorance is the hazard.
     
    Last edited: Apr 18, 2017
    denverpilot likes this.
  12. scottfromboston

    scottfromboston Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010
    Messages:
    166
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Scott
    For all Garmin glass, magenta indicates steer-to/fly-to information (both numeric and graphic indications). Pretty easy to recognize what's going on, RTFM, YMMV, ect ect...

    It would be nice if the G5 would directly drive an autopilot and/or display FD information, but, one step at a time.
     
  13. unsafervguy

    unsafervguy Line Up and Wait

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2011
    Messages:
    786
    Location:
    Sw florida
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    bob
    personally, i don't think that you will ever see the garmin drive existing autopilots. the engineering would be a real pain. however, i do think you will see an stc to install their servos in certificated aircraft.

    bob
     
  14. ZeroPapaGolf

    ZeroPapaGolf Line Up and Wait

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2011
    Messages:
    514
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    formerly 'cheap weenie'
    It would depend entirely on what exactly you have as an existing autopilot.
     
  15. AggieMike88

    AggieMike88 Touchdown! Greaser! PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    12,306
    Location:
    Denton, TX
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Now offering reverse discounts.
    New thread drift...

    While the G5 isn't able to directly communicate with the legacy autopilots, will it comment to the newer offerings like the TruTrack?
     
  16. bnt83

    bnt83 Final Approach

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2012
    Messages:
    6,653
    Location:
    Lincoln NE
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Brian
    I doubt it. Reason being is currently the G5 only communicates with the Garmin autopilot via CANBUS, no certified pilot on earth that I know of uses that, nor do I see an adapter to turn CANBUS signals into RS232 or analog outputs.

    The experimental trutrak vision drawing I saw shows "CANBUS A & B for future expansion"
     
  17. SCCutler

    SCCutler Administrator Management Council Member PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Messages:
    15,872
    Location:
    Dallas
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Spike Cutler
    I do not expect them ever to make the ADI control a non-Garmin autopilot's attitude; too much complication and too much risk.

    On the other hand, I would not be at all surprised to see a simple add-on to the unit functioning as an HSI to provide a basic left-right analog steering signal from the heading bug. Stupid-simple D to A, and it is not integrated into the autopilot in any meaningfully safety-related way.

    Edit: I bet they've already prototyped it.
     
  18. labbadabba

    labbadabba Cleared for Takeoff

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2014
    Messages:
    1,436
    Location:
    Lawrence, KS
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    labbadabba
    My neighbor is one of the guys who is on the G5 team (he actually installed the very first one in the Garmin testbed aircraft at KIXD). Says that the G5 will probably never drive an AP due to how they finagled the STC (same with Dynon he says). That's fine though, there are plenty of great rate-based autopilots out there.
     
  19. bnt83

    bnt83 Final Approach

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2012
    Messages:
    6,653
    Location:
    Lincoln NE
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Brian
    All I really want the G5 for is basically a standby attitude indicator, if I can get field approval for additional wiring enabling other features that great, otherwise I'd stick the non-stc one into an empty hole via field approval without replacing any primary instruments.
     
  20. arkvet

    arkvet Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2016
    Messages:
    451
    Location:
    Arkansas
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Arkvet
    If the G5 won't ever control my Century 41 AP I'll probably be looking at an Aspen at some point. It is absolutely ridiculous that in the year 2017 we are mostly still using decades old technology to keep our planes upright.

    Still looking forward to more developments from garmin and others.
     
  21. gsengle

    gsengle Pattern Altitude

    Joined:
    May 9, 2016
    Messages:
    1,519
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Gsengle
    Garmin has never shown an interest in keeping other manufacturers gear working...


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  22. AggieMike88

    AggieMike88 Touchdown! Greaser! PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    12,306
    Location:
    Denton, TX
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Now offering reverse discounts.
    [​IMG]
     
    jordane93 likes this.
  23. labbadabba

    labbadabba Cleared for Takeoff

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2014
    Messages:
    1,436
    Location:
    Lawrence, KS
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    labbadabba
    My guess is that for this scenario to happen, the pilot would have to be REALLY clueless and the FD would be the least of their worries.
     
    WannFly likes this.
  24. WannFly

    WannFly Cleared for Takeoff PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2016
    Messages:
    1,309
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    WannaFly
    I wonder if the STC ed AP would work with Garmin and come up with a solution...that would be quite interesting

    Sent from my SM-G935V using Tapatalk
     
  25. unsafervguy

    unsafervguy Line Up and Wait

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2011
    Messages:
    786
    Location:
    Sw florida
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    bob
    The solution is getting the faa to allow an stc for garmin and dynon servos. From my discussion with the dynon rep at snf I get the impression that the faa is open to the idea, time will tell.

    Bob
     
  26. bnt83

    bnt83 Final Approach

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2012
    Messages:
    6,653
    Location:
    Lincoln NE
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Brian
    denverpilot likes this.
  27. denverpilot

    denverpilot Taxi to Parking

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    39,387
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    DenverPilot
    Suuuuurrre. I log into PoA and Brian has homework for me to read... thanks man, thanks a lot. Haha.
     
  28. bnt83

    bnt83 Final Approach

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2012
    Messages:
    6,653
    Location:
    Lincoln NE
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Brian
    Giving us the highlights tomorrow?
     
    denverpilot likes this.
  29. murphey

    murphey Final Approach PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Messages:
    6,667
    Location:
    Colorado
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    murphey
    And the quiz on Friday?
     
    denverpilot and bnt83 like this.
  30. denverpilot

    denverpilot Taxi to Parking

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    39,387
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    DenverPilot
    You want a quiz? You bought one, I didn't! Haha.
     
  31. bnt83

    bnt83 Final Approach

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2012
    Messages:
    6,653
    Location:
    Lincoln NE
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Brian
    The G5 HSI is STC to be a primary display for VHF & GPS nav information in the HSI role, I think it would be very reasonable to request a field approval to use that as a substitute for a CDI such as the GI106A/B.

    The G5 wouldn't drive an autopilot (lateral/vertical deviation as the CDI outputs do) in that role tho. The mechanical CDI outputs on the GTN/GNS would still need to be hooked to the autopilot to do that. That could be a sticky detail on a field approval request.

    Since the G5 HSI is to be hooked to pitot and static system to supply secondary airspeed, vertical speed and attitude in a reversionary mode, assuming you could get field approval as mentioned above, that would mean the G5 could be a CDI primarily but also a standby attitude indicator.
     
    Last edited: May 4, 2017
    denverpilot likes this.
  32. GRG55

    GRG55 En-Route

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2015
    Messages:
    2,587
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Aztec Flyer
    I am not nearly as big a fan of all the "new technology" as some others here.

    Just like my "smart phone" it seems to be setting us up for ongoing costs to keep it running & current (I just had to pay $150 for a software update for my JPI engine monitor after I sent it in to replace a failed display) or forced replacement (Garmin announced 7 years ago it would no longer support the 28v versions of the GNS430/530 pair that are in my plane). All my legacy "steam gauge" stuff can still be repaired, and I need not fear the dreaded "black screen in flight".

    I am deliberately keeping a balance between old and new in my bird.
     
  33. gsengle

    gsengle Pattern Altitude

    Joined:
    May 9, 2016
    Messages:
    1,519
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Gsengle
    I generally agree, but I also seem to be paying to overhaul my KI256 every 1000 hours or so to the tune of over a thousand dollars... solid state is the answer.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
    denverpilot likes this.
  34. bnt83

    bnt83 Final Approach

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2012
    Messages:
    6,653
    Location:
    Lincoln NE
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Brian
  35. bnt83

    bnt83 Final Approach

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2012
    Messages:
    6,653
    Location:
    Lincoln NE
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Brian
    Another interesting change, if your airplane DOES NOT HAVE a WAAS GPS navigator such as the GTN/GNS and you install a GTX335/345 with internal GPS receiver for ADS-B out, that GPS receiver in the transponder can drive the G5 GPS input, so you do not need another external GPS antenna in that case. (Note: That GPS input is not for GPS navigation, its for attitude determination aiding, you want GPS nav you must buy a GPS navigator)

    Previously if you didn't have a WAAS navigator the G5 STC required an external antenna be installed dedicated to it.
     
    Last edited: May 4, 2017
    denverpilot likes this.
  36. murphey

    murphey Final Approach PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Messages:
    6,667
    Location:
    Colorado
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    murphey
    Strange about JPI. The software updates are on the website. Load onto a flash drive, follow directions to update the monitor.
     
  37. GRG55

    GRG55 En-Route

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2015
    Messages:
    2,587
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Aztec Flyer
    :confused: ???

    There is no port to update the device operating software on my JPI EDM 760 twin engine monitor. The port is data download from the device memory only - for analytical purposes on an external computer.

    If you think I am in error, would appreciate you sending me a link to the correct location on the JPI website for an operating software update for this specific model.
     
  38. denverpilot

    denverpilot Taxi to Parking

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    39,387
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    DenverPilot
    That shows a lot of forethought on their part. As much as I hate their prices on navigation products, they obviously really want to kill off some of their competition in the display products. Probably annoyed the heck out of them that lots of retrofits were Garmin Nav with Aspen displays front and center in six-pack panels.

    That setup makes for a really nice replacement for gyros on a VFR only airplane. Add the DG version and you've eliminated everything but the TC gyro and all of the vacuum gyros. On a big panel like a 182, you could keep the vacuum gyros over on the right side as backups if you like. No more fussy backup vacuum system STC stuff either, but now redundancy is high.
     
  39. murphey

    murphey Final Approach PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Messages:
    6,667
    Location:
    Colorado
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    murphey
    Aha! I have the 730 with the usb port on the front. The 760 has an optional external port but it's an extra $200. Sorry, didn't know which model you have.
     
  40. bnt83

    bnt83 Final Approach

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2012
    Messages:
    6,653
    Location:
    Lincoln NE
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Brian
    Pretty sure the G5 does not need WAAS specifically, tho I did imply that earlier. Lots of waas talk with the ADS-B debates