Turbulence Technique advice...help?

Derek Guiliano

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
CFIDerek
Took over a student who had three other instructors before me. I have been flying for 10 years, training for 4, and this student started using a technique in turbulence I have never heard of nor been taught to us.

He began to use rudder, and only rudder, to keep wings level. My initial instinct was to tell him not to do that, but after asking him where he heard about this technique from, he said from two of his previous instructors. He was told the reason for it is because it's easier on passengers. While I don't necessarily agree with that because it's much more nauseating to be jossled from side to side than it is to roll, I want to be able to explain it more technically to him as to why, if this is the case, not to do this.

My initial thought is doing so could end up causing oscillations back and forth, eventually leading to and upset attitude recovery situation. The other thought is that by doing so will also cause excessive g loading on the horizontal stab possibly causing damage. All of my training and experience has been to allow the bumps to happen, react after, roll wings level, keeping coordinated.

Is this rudder technique something different that I have just never been taught, or is this a very wrong technique for the thoughts I just said?

Thanks all.

I've never heard of using only rudder during turbulence. I just follow what the FAA recommends. Slow to Va, maintain constant attitude and ride the waves.

Passengers in the backseat feel every bit of uncoordinated flight. Not sure how rudder only would be easier on them..?

Lots of different kinds of turbulence make lots of different responses. Lifting a wing with rudder is not a problem and may be a good response as long as it's gentle. Probably best reserved for slower speeds.