The MyFlightBook thread

Discussion in 'Flight Following' started by AggieMike88, Mar 17, 2016.

  1. EricBe

    EricBe Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2013
    Messages:
    283
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Eric Berman
    Not sure your account (send me your email at myflightbook@gmail.com?) so I can't look at the flight track, if available, but my guess is that it's false positive landings from spotty GPS signal. I use the GPS speed to distinguish takeoff from landing, so some low-speeds reported by the android's GPS can lead to false-positive intermediate airports. And I keep watching the GPS until engine end - not flight end, because you could take off again after a touch-and-go.
     
  2. iamtheari

    iamtheari Administrator Management Council Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2016
    Messages:
    2,784
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Ari
    Does anyone have suggested best practices for logging landings at places that don’t have an airport identifier? So far most of my landings have been at airports, or a place that eventually became an airport. But I have a couple off-airport landings (both of them planned) and, if there’s a right way to log those, I want to do it.
     
  3. EricBe

    EricBe Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2013
    Messages:
    283
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Eric Berman
    Three suggestions, not mutually exclusive:
    • Go ahead and make up an identifier; it's fine if something in your Route doesn't match anything in the database.
    • You can also use @###N####W notation (or S/W). E.g., @36.18N111.80W is the grand canyon. It will map if you do this. If you press-and-hold the "append nearest" button (right next to the Route field) on the iOS/Android app, it will append your current location using this notation.
    • If you want it to show up in visited airports, then make up an identifier for it. On the website, go to Airports->Add/Edit airports. I suggest using a 5- or 6- character code to minimize the chances of potential conflicts with actual ICAO codes or GPS waypoints (or to avoid getting overwritten in the future). These may take a little while to migrate down to the iOS/Android apps (I only update those databases periodically).
     
    iamtheari likes this.
  4. Lindberg

    Lindberg En-Route

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2013
    Messages:
    4,083
    Location:
    North Texas
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Lindberg
    Email sent.
     
    EricBe likes this.
  5. iamtheari

    iamtheari Administrator Management Council Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2016
    Messages:
    2,784
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Ari
    Thank you! I just tested a route of the form KXWA @48.001N104.041W 13UEP715168. (No, I didn't really land on the grass next to Fort Union. That's just a more fun example than my real flights.) I rounded the latitude and longitude to the nearest 0.001 and truncated the MGRS/USNG to a 100-meter square, which seems to be enough precision for any sane use. The MGRS seems to be accepted by MyFlightBook as an "I don't know what that is but I won't complain about it" identifier and the lat/long lets MFB map it for me and tell me the route distance and average speed.
     
  6. EricBe

    EricBe Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2013
    Messages:
    283
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Eric Berman
    what's MGRS?
     
  7. iamtheari

    iamtheari Administrator Management Council Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2016
    Messages:
    2,784
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Ari
    Military Grid Reference System. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Military_Grid_Reference_System

    I find it to be the most convenient coordinate system to use. It is marked on U.S. Topo maps and the Forest Service's maps of the local hiking trail system, all my GPSes can use it (except for my G3X Touch, which can show it but has a bug that I hope Garmin fixed in their latest software update), and it's easier to communicate coordinates because you don't get bogged down in ambiguous decimal degrees vs. decimal minutes vs. seconds.

    And, since it lets me designate a 100-by-100-meter square with exactly two digits, three letters, and six more digits, it seems like a pretty safe form of made-up identifier to use with MFB. :)
     
  8. EricBe

    EricBe Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2013
    Messages:
    283
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Eric Berman
    Huh, maybe I should add support for MGRS. 11 characters is more than I allow for identifiers in the database (currently limited to 6), but no inherent reason I couldn't support this natively. I'll investigate
     
  9. iamtheari

    iamtheari Administrator Management Council Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2016
    Messages:
    2,784
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Ari
    The full format is 12ABC0123456789 which defines a 1-by-1-meter square, located in grid 12A, 100km-by-100km-square BC, 01234 meters easting and 56789 meters northing from the origin of that square (the southwest corner). You can just truncate digits from the easting and northing to refer to larger squares. There are polar quirks where a slightly different system is used but I think the coordinates format is the same. I haven't spent enough time in the polar regions to worry about that.

    ForeFlight accepts MGRS coordinates prefaced by MGRS@ such as MGRS@13UEP715168. I tested it and the minimum it will accept is 13UEP, it won't just let you plug in 13U. But you can enter any level of precision from 100km 13UEP down to 1m 13UEP7157316689.

    Your path of least change may be to imitate ForeFlight and parse location entries of the form MGRS@x as MGRS coordinates. Of course, the downside there is that fly-over entries of the form @MGRS@x would look really weird.
     
  10. EricBe

    EricBe Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2013
    Messages:
    283
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Eric Berman
    Nah, the path of least change is to pattern match on the syntax of an MGRS coordinate that is at least a given level of precision (1km?) and then use the CoordinateSharp to convert it to a latitude/longitude for me. No need for a special syntax.
     
  11. iamtheari

    iamtheari Administrator Management Council Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2016
    Messages:
    2,784
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Ari
    13UEP7116 is a 1km-by-1km square. Even if you go to 10km squares you have a minimum of 7 characters. The maximum is 15. Neither end of that range should conflict with any identifiers in the aviation database. (I don't think that there are any 12ABC-format real identifiers out there, but the 5-character length may be a risk.)
     
  12. EricBe

    EricBe Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2013
    Messages:
    283
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Eric Berman
    Just coded up support (web only) for @xxx where xxx is mgrs. Will take it live in a few days.
     
    masloki likes this.
  13. iamtheari

    iamtheari Administrator Management Council Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2016
    Messages:
    2,784
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Ari
    I've often wondered this ... What different treatment, if any, does your code give to @KXWA vs KXWA? I normally enter flyover waypoints with an @ and places I landed without it, but maybe that's not necessary?
     
  14. EricBe

    EricBe Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2013
    Messages:
    283
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Eric Berman
    Here's how it works:
    • XXX ==> Matches Airport XXX, IF it's a perfect match. E.g., KSFO or SFO both match perfectly to San Francisco International. "Airport" here means Airport, Heliport, or Seaport (i.e., not a navaid or fix)
    • XXX ==> Matches Navaid XXX, IF there is no airport/heliport/seaport that is a perfect match. E.g., "AW" is a fix here in the northwest that doesn't match any airport.
    • KXXX ==> Matches XXX (allows for US airports where the "K" prefix is not uniformly followed). So, for example, Jefferson County airport is 0S9, but it *doesn't* have an ICAO code, so "K0S9" is technically wrong. But people use it anyhow. Similarly, Maui is OGG but its ICAO code is PHOG. But KOGG works. (It works in reverse too - if you type XXX and XXX isn't in the system, but KXXX is, then I'll match to KXXX)
    • @###N###W ==> Becomes an "Ad-hoc" fix at the specified latitude/longitude. N and W can, of course, be E and S. This is NOT treated as an airport.
    • @13UEP7116 ==> Becomes an Ad-hoc fix at the specified MGRS coordinate (coded up, not yet live on the website)
    • @XXX ==> If XXX matches a navaid in the database, matches that even if XXX is also an airport. E.g., @SFO is the San Francisco VOR.
    • @XXX ==> If XXX is NOT a navaid in the database but IS an airport, then this creates an ad-hoc fix at location of airport XXX. E.g., @KSFO is a "flyover" fix over San Francisco International Airport. I just added this a few days ago - precisely for "flyover" airports as you describe. That way, they map, but they do not count as visited airports nor should they count towards ratings progress (e.g., when you need to land 150nm away from point of departure).
     
    iamtheari likes this.
  15. iamtheari

    iamtheari Administrator Management Council Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2016
    Messages:
    2,784
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Ari
    Thank you. On the off chance you're not sick of hearing it yet, I appreciate all that you do with MFB, especially communicating with users like this.
     
    denverpilot and EricBe like this.
  16. AggieMike88

    AggieMike88 Touchdown! Greaser! PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    19,394
    Location:
    Denton, TX
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    The original "I don't know it all" of aviation.
    @EricBe … this screen shot is how your currency widget looks on my iPhone X.

    98EB4FDE-4F34-4905-9918-9F7BF6F14C92.jpeg
    I like using a green font color to indicate I am current, but there using enough contrast to be easily readable.

    Could you see if an alternative is better?

    An idea: use a stop light graphic and then black text
     
  17. EricBe

    EricBe Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2013
    Messages:
    283
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Eric Berman
    Yeah, the issue is the translucency over a light colored background image. I should see if I can increase the opacity of that background
     
  18. baboss

    baboss Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2012
    Messages:
    273
    Location:
    Central IL
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Brock Boss
    Widgets aren't working on my Galaxy S9. They just show as a black box and no amount of resizing the widgets changes things. Known issue or am I doing something wrong?
     
  19. EricBe

    EricBe Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2013
    Messages:
    283
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Eric Berman
    Airborne now without my Android; will check later
     
  20. AggieMike88

    AggieMike88 Touchdown! Greaser! PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    19,394
    Location:
    Denton, TX
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    The original "I don't know it all" of aviation.
    @EricBe .... Just used your "Check Flights" function for the first time.

    Thank you thank you thank you for providing that!!!

    The tool caught several mistakes and omissions, especially XC time.

    Logbook totals looking much better now that I used that function.
     
    EricBe likes this.
  21. EricBe

    EricBe Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2013
    Messages:
    283
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Eric Berman
    Huh, just tried on my emulator (running Android 10 on an emulated PIxel) and they work fine. I don't have a physical device with me (won't be home until Monday), but it's working in that. What version android are you running?
     
  22. denverpilot

    denverpilot Tied Down PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    55,425
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    DenverPilot
    If you need specific device tests I can load it up on an LG.

    (Offering since it’s an oddball.)
     
  23. EricBe

    EricBe Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2013
    Messages:
    283
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Eric Berman
    Mind trying to set up widgets with the latest build and report back if it works? Thanks!
     
  24. Lindberg

    Lindberg En-Route

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2013
    Messages:
    4,083
    Location:
    North Texas
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Lindberg
    Widget are working on my Galaxy S10.
     
    EricBe likes this.
  25. denverpilot

    denverpilot Tied Down PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    55,425
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    DenverPilot
    Currency works, Totals is blank.

    Literally the first time I've loaded the Android version so not much experience with it. I did do a pack and go just in case that might help it behave, no change.

    I'll throw a reboot in here in a sec for good measure since it is Android after all... Heh. [​IMG][​IMG]
     
  26. denverpilot

    denverpilot Tied Down PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    55,425
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    DenverPilot
    Ahh got it. It's Night mode that turns it all black.

    Turn off night mode it looks fine.
     
    EricBe likes this.
  27. EricBe

    EricBe Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2013
    Messages:
    283
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Eric Berman
    I was going to say - that looks like black-on-black. I'll have to file a bug to ensure that I handle night mode correctly. Thanks! https://github.com/ericberman/MyFlightbookAndroid/issues/230
     
    denverpilot likes this.
  28. baboss

    baboss Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2012
    Messages:
    273
    Location:
    Central IL
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Brock Boss
    Ah yep, turned Dark Mode off and it works as expected.
     
    EricBe and denverpilot like this.
  29. denverpilot

    denverpilot Tied Down PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    55,425
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    DenverPilot
    Glad to assist. No big deal really — I figured it was something like that.

    I leave my devices in dark mode or themes all the time.

    Bright white backgrounds bug me. Grew up looking at green CRTs. Ha.

    Not to mention how much unused screen real estate most web pages have. Bleh. Pay for a 4K monitor, silly web pages show ten lines of text.

    Guess I’ll always be a terminal guy. Haha.
     
    EricBe likes this.
  30. EricBe

    EricBe Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2013
    Messages:
    283
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Eric Berman
    I've checked in a code fix for the widgets - it wasn't respecting night mode. Maybe will try for an update of the app next week or so.
     
    denverpilot likes this.
  31. AggieMike88

    AggieMike88 Touchdown! Greaser! PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    19,394
    Location:
    Denton, TX
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    The original "I don't know it all" of aviation.
    Showing those to today’s kids gets the same response as showing them a 8-track tape and explaining that back in the day how awesome you were for having a player in the beat up jalopy you had in high school.

    Nate… we’re getting too old…
     
    EricBe and denverpilot like this.
  32. KaiGywer

    KaiGywer Line Up and Wait

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2014
    Messages:
    534
    Location:
    KBIS
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    KaiGywer
    My night time currency is not updating as expected. It seems to have started recently, but even though I put in my night time and night landings, it doesn’t update.

    DA83D699-551D-4067-BA72-8D35124CF0F4.png B394E777-22CF-4B09-A34C-9604458C8D58.png
     
  33. RussR

    RussR Pattern Altitude

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    2,184
    Location:
    Oklahoma City, OK
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Russ
    Is it possible that the plane you used (N7120V) isn't set up properly under the "Aircraft" tab? (And therefore isn't reading as an ASEL?)

    And charge your battery! :D
     
  34. KaiGywer

    KaiGywer Line Up and Wait

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2014
    Messages:
    534
    Location:
    KBIS
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    KaiGywer
    I’ve never had a problem with the plane before, and it adds to my ASEL time, so I don’t think that’s the problem.

    And yeah yeah, I’ll charge it soon ;)
     
  35. EricBe

    EricBe Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2013
    Messages:
    283
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Eric Berman
    All looks correct to me. 61.57(b) requires 3 full-stop landings AND 3 night takeoffs within the preceding 90 days of flight. If I search in your account for night takeoffs, I see 1 on April 1 and 2 on March 31. So while your 3 full-stop night landings on June 9 gave you 90 days of night *landings*, the limiting factor remains your takeoffs. March 31 + 90 days = June 29, which is what is being reported.
     
  36. KaiGywer

    KaiGywer Line Up and Wait

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2014
    Messages:
    534
    Location:
    KBIS
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    KaiGywer
    That did the trick. Is that new? I never used to specify night takeoffs as a property, but it updated my night currency. Thanks for letting me know.
     
  37. EricBe

    EricBe Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2013
    Messages:
    283
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Eric Berman
    Not new, but slightly modified a few months ago. PIlots are always lax about recording night takeoffs, so my rule has always been "if I don't see them, assume this pilot doesn't record them and just use landings but give a warning that night takeoffs haven't been found, but if you do see them then clearly this pilot does record them, so require them." What changed a few months ago is how I determine "do you record them." I used to just look for night takeoffs in the last 90 days. Now I look to see if you have any night takeoffs, ever.
     
    KaiGywer likes this.
  38. midlifeflyer

    midlifeflyer Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    May 25, 2006
    Messages:
    12,616
    Location:
    Chapel Hill NC
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Mark
    Hmmm. What if the only reason someone ever recorded a night takeoff was to shut off the warning?
     
  39. EricBe

    EricBe Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2013
    Messages:
    283
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Eric Berman
    Recording 1 night takeoff will shut off the warning...but then you're not current because you only have 1. You should log 'em. Note that the warning isn't an alert - it doesn't pop-up or interrupt you or anything like that. It simply shows in fine print (not even red) underneath your night currency "Required night takeoffs not found; ensure they have actually been done!"
     
  40. AggieMike88

    AggieMike88 Touchdown! Greaser! PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    19,394
    Location:
    Denton, TX
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    The original "I don't know it all" of aviation.
    @EricBe … for iPad and iPhone, is there a setting or switch than can be flipped to put the “Overall” category of Flying Totals at the top of the page versus the bottom?

    That would be a good spot right above total by category/class.