OMG a Missed Approach

Still better "news" than the manure throwing contest between him and her that uccupies 99% of network coverage.

Is a missed approach synonymous with a go-around? I've always considered them to be different.

No wonder the pilot made a "bumpy" landing the second time around. Look at that runway!

I didn't see much histrionics in the story. And frankly, I've been flying commercial regularly for 41 years, and have experienced one go around. So it is unusual, and they had video of it, so why not write a story?

Making yourself go around and handling the disappointment/confusion on the missed. Its the psychology of a missed that is usually the challenge....

yup....I had to do one the other day. The Cessna in front of me wouldn't cross the thresh hold line after exiting. :eek:

The nervous controller made me go around....

I would guess that a321 burns more fuel on a missed approach/go-around than most of our little planes do on a 3 hour cross country.

Looks like just good aviating to me. Glad to see an aviation story that isn't a mass crash.

Anyone note how long it took for the gear to come up? Seemed to be long since out of usable runway by the time the gear was retracted.

Ahh the media, nothing like telling a detailed story about something you little to no knowledge about to a bunch of people that also have little to no knowledge of the subject so they can have something to talk about that is mostly incorrect...gotta love it

It even made it to the news in the US... Saw it this morning in the news when I got ready for work. Ran under 'scare in the air'... :rolleyes1::rolleyes2::lol:

Apparently some people (even some newer pilots) don't know that a missed approach is an instrument procedure. This video shows a (normal) go around.

Actually it's a balked landing.

Actually it's a balked landing.

As I understand it, a balked landing is a kind of a go around, but I stand to be corrected.