Direct supervision by A&P

brien23

Cleared for Takeoff
Display Name

Display name:
Brien
For those of you that like to do all the work on your aircraft under the direct supervision by your buddy A&P does not mean by phone to him at home. How many have seen non A&P aircraft owners doing over and above what is legal to do on their aircraft under the direct supervision of a A&P only the A&P is not around and only checks after the fact.

Ive been hanging out here for a couple of years and there have been quite a few owners that have admitted.... we'll just leave it at that.

Glenn,

I had one owner who did impeccable work. Problem was he never told me what he had done. Told him I would no longer work on or inspect his plane. Didn't want to explain to the feds why something I had not supervised (or even been told about) caused the plane to fall out of the sky.

so....does supervision mean he has to be standing there.....watching over your shoulder?o_O

lots of people do work on airplanes without licenses....that are supervised and there is no one there watching them. Heck, they even build large airplanes....

Wouldn't you want to be doing that if it were your A&P certificate on the line?
depends who it was.....a good friend of mine worked for Lycoming....I'd let him do next to anything on an engine, I even ask for his advice at times. :D

....others don't belong with a screw driver near a plane.

so....does supervision mean he has to be standing there.....watching over your shoulder?o_O

lots of people do work on airplanes without licenses....that are supervised and there is no one there watching them. Heck, they even build large airplanes....

https://definitions.uslegal.com/d/direct-supervision/ Direct supervision generally means to be physically present, or within an immediate distance, such as on the same floor, and available to respond to the needs ...

you mean available....by phone?