Briefing an Approach Plate

2nd505th

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
2nd505th
I'm a newbie. Passed my written, couple hours in the air. I'm wondering on the check ride will the DPE give you an approach you have never seen before and expect you to brief it and fly it, go missed, etc?

I ask because right now It takes me 30 mins on the ground to figure it out. I can't imagine trying to fly, communicate, orientate and brief and not mess up.

Maybe it comes with time?

By the time you take your check ride you won't have any problems doing it. In any event, you will most likely fly approaches you flew in training unless you travel someplace for your check ride.

Among other things, your CFII and others where you are training are likely to know any of the peculiarities of the DPE you will use.

That said, as @tsts4 said, you are probably going to fly approaches you have flown before. If you get an approach plate you have never seen before, it is far more likely to be on the ground than in the air.

plus, you are only just learning to brief and both your understanding and methodology will change. Take a long Notes section. Now you go through it meticulously. Later you will zap through it, recognizing and mentally discarding the many items which don't apply to you.

I'm a newbie. Passed my written, couple hours in the air. I'm wondering on the check ride will the DPE give you an approach you have never seen before and expect you to brief it and fly it, go missed, etc?

I ask because right now It takes me 30 mins on the ground to figure it out. I can't imagine trying to fly, communicate, orientate and brief and not mess up.

It comes with time. I’m going to assume 30 minutes is an exaggeration if you’ve already passed the written. By the time you get your checkride you’ll have had plenty of time to become familiar with the Approaches around where you’ll take it.

Last edited:
NOTAMS always worked for me:

N= Navaids
O= Obstacles
T= Timing (if applicable)