Be careful what you post.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tom-D

Taxi to Parking
Display Name

Display name:
Tom-D
Today, I was shown in court, a Thread I made a post in, lawyers do watch these webpages, simply because the can google your name, and see what you post ..

be warned , be armed.

Did you post under your real name?.
No,, but every one knows who I am. some even have my e-mail and phone.
It just surprised me the defendant's lawyer would use a thread from here.

Now I understand. Just glad everyone doesn’t know my real name is Maynard Runkle. You know, the Runkles of Pepper’s Point.

An internet post in court??? I’m not a lawyer, but that one seems odd. Anyone can tell fibs here. I don’t believe forum rules puts you under oath.

An internet post in court??? I’m not a lawyer, but that one seems odd. Anyone can tell fibs here. I don’t believe forum rules puts you under oath.
I wasn't there, but it sounds from the description like it was being used to bring out either consistencies or inconsistencies between testimony being given in court and prior statements elsewhere or to challenge credibility in some way.

Pretty standard fare. New source of information but very old evidentiary rule. A cross-examination standard because of how effective it can be in challenging a witness' reliability and credibility when used well.

I wasn't there, but it sounds from the description like it was being used to bring out either consistencies or inconsistencies between testimony being given in court and prior statements elsewhere or to challenge credibility in some way.

Pretty standard fare. New source of information but very old evidentiary rule. A cross-examination standard because of how effective it can be in challenging a witness' reliability and credibility when used well.
Seeing as though I’m not a lawyer, and do not pretend to spout the law, I actually posted that in hopes you would respond.
Thanks.