A new panel with only GPS navigation for IFR flying

MountainDude

Line Up and Wait
Display Name

Display name:
MountainDude
I have been a VFR pilot only, so not very good at all the IFR gadgets.
Have an old Cessna 182 with the original panel from the 70s.
If I can get an instrument rating with GPS only navigation and approaches, what would be a good value panel?
I would want to remove the vacuum system, old NavComs, and the VOR/ILS indicators. I already have a great engine monitor.
What do you think of: 2 G5s, a GPS 175s, and AeroCruze 100.
Would Dynon have a competitive option but without any VOR/LOC/ILS capabilities?

For IFR flight, an IFR GPS only is adequate. For IFR training (at least a few hours) and the check ride, you will need to fly a VOR and ILS approach. There is some talk of removing the radio nav requirement, but it isn’t gone yet. For budget, you could just install the GPS and borrow/rent a plane for the few hours of training and check ride.

The Dynon would work great, but runs about $8-10,000 more than 2 G5’s. It is well worth the upgrade in functionality in my opinion, though.

I would want to remove the vacuum system, old NavComs, and the VOR/ILS indicators.
Why would you want to remove the old NAV/COMs? You'll still need COM radios, so why not leave them in? What would you replace them with?

The new Instrument ICS, that goes fully into effect in May allows GPS only for check ride.

A letter from the FAA allows GPS only now, but it is not required, so up to DPE.

For IFR flight, an IFR GPS only is adequate. For IFR training (at least a few hours) and the check ride, you will need to fly a VOR and ILS approach. There is some talk of removing the radio nav requirement, but it isn’t gone yet. For budget, you could just install the GPS and borrow/rent a plane for the few hours of training and check ride.

The Dynon would work great, but runs about $8-10,000 more than 2 G5’s. It is well worth the upgrade in functionality in my opinion, though.