Training in a Piper Archer Now. Got Any Tips/Tricks/Advice?

onezuludelta

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
OneZuluDelta
I've switched in my PPL training from a 152 to an Archer (PA-28-180 or 181, a 1975 with the Hershey bar wing), and I wanted to ask the hive mind: do you know of any good resources for Piper Archer specific info? I'm just trying to devour as much as I can between flights (because being on the ground drives me crazy). Tips, tricks, best practices, landing hints/techniques, typical climb/cruise/descent speeds, range, what types of missions you like to use the plane for, what it's not good for, fun experiences, scary experiences, anything like that would be more than welcome. I'm studying the POH but real-world experiences often differ, right?

I switched from a 172 to a Warrior during training, then to an Archer before finishing. Main difference for me were the fuel pump, you don't need carb heat. For me, the different sight picture was the main thing. I always felt like I was a lot lower than I really was, which caused me to flare too early in the beginning.

Memorize your new Vspeeds and checklists, taking note of the differences so as to get rid of any habits you picked up with the Cessna.

archer, good plane, easy to fly. I have found 74mph to be my magic # on final for squeaky landings (hershey bar).

Great airplane - just gotta think about the fuel pump and switching tanks, but otherwise you'll do great. Don't overthink it and have fun!

Great plane and easy to fly. It does want a little power over the fence. I bought a '68 Cherokee with the Hershey bar wing about 10 hours into my training and never regretted it. As every one else mentioned, fuel pump, but also no carb heat and on final unless required (icing).

My Cherokee was rated for spins in utility category. I don't know about the Archer.