Tow Mater

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
Tow Mater
Hey there,
I am currently a college student working on my bachelors degree in aviation and currently working on my first stage towards my ASEL Commercial license and I have had some questions recently about continuing part 141 in my flight training or not and how that would hold me back from getting my R-ATP.

I am not really concerned about that right now because I don't want to go towards the airlines, my ultimate goal is the corporate/private aviation field but I'm young and have time to build up my flight hours so that is why I do not have that concern right now. Should I be more concerned about this or is it okay to get an unrestricted ATP once I get up to 1500 hours? I am new to the aviation industry and have no one to really give me guidance in this career path with the specific goals that I have in mind so that is why I have turned to y'all to see if you could help me out.

Do I need to be more concerned with the ATP/R-ATP if I'm not going into the airlines and okay with taking my time to build up my flight hours in smaller aircraft and jobs? Or should I try and pursue the R-ATP if it would help me get into the corporate aviation that I desire in the future? If you'd give me some personal experience advice and areas to look into, I would greatly appreciate it! Thanks!

The only reason I can see to get an R-ATP is if you’re going to need an ATP certificate prior to achieving the time requirements for an unrestricted ATP. About the only reason you’d need that is for getting into the right seat of an airliner.

The only reason I can see to get an R-ATP is if you’re going to need an ATP certificate prior to achieving the time requirements for an unrestricted ATP. About the only reason you’d need that is for getting into the right seat of an airliner.
Disagree. No matter what job you are going after, the more credentials the better… Even if they are not needed for that particular job.