Question for the A&Ps

Timbeck2

Final Approach
Display Name

Display name:
Timbeck2
How did you do it? School/Apprentice?

I want to get my license but not really sure how or what classes to take. the community college offers several A&P courses but I'm pretty sure I don't need all of them for a license. I'm an idiot when it comes to avionics but pretty handy when it comes to engines and airframe. Just not really sure which path to take. I was a jet engine mechanic for 10 years prior to cross-training to ATC. Back then the "P" portion was a slam dunk for those who took it and the "A" portion required going to some month long class to learn how to cut, form, rivet and weld aluminum. I'm sure it has changed drastically since then.

Just wondering how to get started.

Tim

2 year school....full time at the local community college. Turbine engines was a small portion of the practical and written tests....but you'll have a nice start.

Start studying AC 43.13 1b.....you'll need to know every chapter well.

Last edited:
Seems like getting paid to learn as a apprentice, beats paying to learn, plus it's as real world as you can get.

Just got to find a good shop who is willing.

Seems like getting paid to learn as a apprentice, beats paying to learn, plus it's as real world as you can get.

That would beat relocating for school and burning a lot of money.

usually those programs require taking everything.....vs ala carte. But, you should call and talk with the lead instructor and see if any of your OJT counts.

I already hold a bachelor's degree (which I'll never use) so I meet the pre-requisites of this program: https://www.pima.edu/programs-cours...ation-technology/aviation-technology-aas.html

So.....do I just take all the air frame and power plant courses or do I need to take the structural repair and avionics technician classes as well?

What do you want to do with the A&P?

Specialties:

Structures - Sheet metal and composites