Proper terminology for approaches?

CC268

Final Approach
Display Name

Display name:
CC268
Hey guys,

I am a new pilot with 9 hours so far. I operate out of a Class D airport...

So when heading back to the airport from the practice area I will call up tower and say something like this:

Scottsdale Tower, Skyhawk 6254D is at Pinnacle Peak at 4500, inbound for full stop (or touch and goes or whatever it is I want to do) with information Mike.

However, I seem to hear a lot of people say something like "visual for 21" or something like that instead of "inbound for full stop".

So is there a proper way to do this? Is my method alright or should I start using this "visual" method?

Visual (most likely) means they are on an IFR flight plan and been cleared for the visual approach by TRACON.

When I get handed off to tower I will sometimes let them know which approach I am on.

Keep doing what you're doing. but you can shorten it up...
Scottsdale Tower, Skyhawk 6254D, Pinnacle Peak 4500, full stop, with Mike.

Visual (most likely) means they are on an IFR flight plan and been cleared for the visual approach by TRACON.

When I get handed off to tower I will sometimes let them know which approach I am on.

Oh cool I like that shortened up version!

Thanks for the help!

Cessna 123 ,10 miles south,inbound for landing,information mike.

I don't like using "for" or "to" in any of my transmissions lest they be confused with "four" (fower - dumb way to say it) or "two".

Who you are calling, who you are, where you are, what you want.

"Scottsdale Tower, Cessna XY123 (always use FULL call sign on initial contact), Student Pilot, Pinnacle Peak 4500, full stop, with information Mike"

Who you are calling, who you are, where you are, what you want.

"Scottsdale Tower, Cessna XY123 (always use FULL call sign on initial contact), Student Pilot, Pinnacle Peak 4500, full stop, with information Mike"

Sure that's not information echo? ;)