Plane Owners - Would You Rent out your Plane?

Would You Use such a service if it could save you $1000's per year?

• Yes

Votes: 4 4.4%
  • No

Votes: 87 95.6%

• Total voters

Valor

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
Valor
First off, I'm new here, so I'll provide a quick introduction...

I'm currently 22, a mechanical engineering student, I run a small ecommerce business, and I'm a web developer as well. I'm by no means an insider in the aviation industry, but I am familiar with the industry and have even taken several classes from Embry Riddle on different aspects of the industry.

I've always been interested in aviation - in fact, when I was younger, I wanted to be a pilot for the longest time. Recently, I began to look into taking flight lessons to get my private pilots license, and was kinda shocked by the prices to rent an aircraft, so I did a little research and came up with an idea.

From what I gathered, renting an aircraft for lessons can range anywhere from $100-120 per hour, and it only costs about $50-60 per hour in variable costs (costs that increase the more you fly) to run these aircraft, taking into account fuel, oil, maintenance and all the other variable costs.

There's also another problem I've noticed when looking at the numbers. Owning an aircraft doesn't seem to be very practical economically most of the time, often being about the same cost (or close) as renting an airplane.

So here's the idea...

A website where aircraft owners can rent out their planes to pilots looking for planes to rent.

Basically Sailo for airplanes (google it).