Normal to "self-ground" for a while?

rtk11

Pattern Altitude
Display Name

Display name:
rtk
So... have others "self grounded" for a while? A while being more than 3 months?

Work has been exceptionally challenging as of late, and I've been working long hours for the last 6 months and dealing with a lot of work related stresses that I thought I could handle.

Somewhere toward the beginning of the year, I found that I was getting sick more often than usual (cold and flu) and have been pretty fatigued. In mid-January, I went up with another pilot, but had him take the controls mid-flight when I felt that I was becoming ill again (cold sweat). I've not flown since that time as my weekends are full with family time, and work has not relented. I am starting to think about getting back in the cockpit, but with a safety pilot along.

I have an acquaintance in a totally different line of work (though likely equally stressful) and he and his wife are flying all the time. He doesn't have kids, so that may be part of it.

Has anyone else gone through a spell where they've self-grounded and not flown for a while? Is this normal?

Plenty of people have self -grounded for various reasons and various periods of time. Technically, I guess everyone who ever got his or her certificate and stopped flying, self-grounded. Some come back in several months. Some come back after several years. Some never come back at all.

I went thru a time several years ago: wife with a serious illness,surgery, recovery. I knew that I was not 100% at that time . Parked the airplane for the 10 month duration, went up with my CFI for recurrent and BFR...... self grounded, resumed flying, no problems.

edit: preflight yourself before you preflight the airplane.

There's a lot of truth in the saying that it's better to be on the ground wishing you were in the air than in the air wishing you were on the ground.