New To Me Plane, Time for Annual

Danny Dub

Pre-Flight
Display Name

Display name:
Danny Dub
Hi guys. Just bought a 1960 Cessna 175a. It has been sitting for a while and we are working through the cosmetic type stuff to get it ready for annual. I had a mechanic at it's old home base do a lot to get us going but after the flight home it is clear that some issues still need to be resolved.

The logs that came with the plane are iffy but probably mostly intact. How does the IA go about all the background checking of the plane (or do they)? Maybe he will only be worried about the current condition and not the history.

Any advice is welcomed. I am a pilot by profession so I can't risk flying a plane that isn't totally legal. Trying to understand this aircraft ownership world.

Thanks in advance.

Dan

If you haven't done so already, be sure to join the C-175 Association (http://www.cessna175.org/ ). There are some good resources there and, of course, a few very devoted 175 owners. To answer your question, a knowledgeable and competent IA can inspect and essentially certify as airworthy certain work that perhaps was not properly documented either in the logs or via 337. Be sure to order the aircraft history CD from the FAA.

Hey Danny. Welcome to PoA and plane ownership! Best of luck with the annual!

Hey Danny. Welcome to PoA and plane ownership! Best of luck with the annual!

:yeahthat:

Great to add another new PoAer and airplane owner victim, er...pilot. :D

You can do a lot yourself. An example, compile a record of all the applicable ADs and check to see they each have actually been complied with.

If you don't have a good history/logs I would open it up completely and check everything including cable tensions.

:yeahthat:

Great to add another new PoAer and airplane owner victim, er...pilot. :D

You can do a lot yourself. An example, compile a record of all the applicable ADs and check to see they each have actually been complied with.