My first brush with icing

Salty

Touchdown! Greaser!
Display Name

Display name:
Salty
Ok, not really, but seriously this is my first time seeing this and I’ll be happy if it’s the most I ever see.

interestingly enough, we weren’t even really in the clouds. Just brushing the bottoms.
680D7C25-AC06-4970-8796-37D818C9EBBD.jpeg DA1D4400-8028-4558-BA94-A636E0947C37.jpeg F691FF3C-C637-4245-93C4-C8B2EE617E24.jpeg 64817635-AB09-4320-AEB4-DDA6AB77C99A.jpeg

That was my first thought as well. That wasn't the typical rime.

None on the wings and it only last a couple minutes.

It'd be pretty rare for it to stick to plexi like that and not the wings. I bet it was there but that's the nasty stuff that'll be clear and really hard to see in flat light on light paint.

Rime usually makes little ridges and is easier to see on even light colored surfaces right at the edge because the angles are visible.

Both are easier to spot on black surfaces. On Cessnas look at the front of the main gear tire if it doesn't have wheel pants on. Struts too.

Any way you spot it, it'll definitely get your attention! Don't forget Mr Pitot Heat as an automatic check right then. Heh.

It'd be pretty rare for it to stick to plexi like that and not the wings. I bet it was there but that's the nasty stuff that'll be clear and really hard to see in flat light on light paint.

Rime usually makes little ridges and is easier to see on even light colored surfaces right at the edge because the angles are visible.

Both are easier to spot on black surfaces. On Cessnas look at the front of the main gear tire if it doesn't have wheel pants on. Struts too.

Any way you spot it, it'll definitely get your attention! Don't forget Mr Pitot Heat as an automatic check right then. Heh.
Yeah, I flipped on pitot heat until the ice slid off. It accumulated pretty much instantly and didn’t last long enough for me to ask for lower.