Marshaling Signals

azpilot

Line Up and Wait
Display Name

Display name:
azpilot
I be flying into a new airport in a couple of weeks (KPVU). I called up the FBO and they have line workers marshall airplanes into position. I've never done this before so I am a little unclear how this will work. After I exit the runway, I'll contact ground and tell them I want to taxi to the FBO.

How does the FBO know I am coming?

Am I supposed to contact them on a different frequency?

How do the line workers know I am coming? Do they just see an airplane taxing in and start marshaling me in?

The FBO has radios, too. Usually, they will hear Ground and will be ready for you. If you need any services aside from parking, you should call ahead and reserve them, with your tail number and an expected time. Even if all you need is parking, if there is any chance it might be tight.

When in doubt, call them and ask.

Many (if not all) monitor ground so when you say you're holding short of XX at Y, going to FBO Yourfavoritenamehere they know you're coming and will meet you at the entrance to their ramp with some flagging. If it's dead quiet you can pull right up and park yourself. (had that two weeks ago at Spirit in St Louis)

You can talk to the fbo (freq in the AF/d) usually. It isn't necessary. The line guys will see you and assume ya wanna park instead of driving around the ramp.

They will see you taxi onto the ramp. Usually meeting you with a golf cart that's says "follow me" . Follow them. Or taxi towards the worker standing there with there arms up. Usually you'll park facing the same direction as the other aircraft. Dont worry about it. I've had big airplanes park in the wrong spot while I was trying to marshal them in. They'll just move you anyway.

-tony.