High wing VS low wing?

Pinstriper

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
Pinstriper
I just stumbled on this and since I'm a Cherokee 140 driver it seemed like something I should've watched before I bought mine.

High wings were designed because old farts couldn't get into low wings anymore.

:rolleyes2:

Thanks for posting the link to the video. One thing I'm surprised they didn't mention is how much easier it is to fuel a low wing.

Nice video. Good info for a new pilot.

Complete and total baloney.
Wait until you have a few thousand hours and you will just snort when someone starts agonizing over the position of the wing. It is meaningless.

I'll admit it. I just like the low wing looks better. Biggest factor in my purchase.

I find it much easier to get in the Ercoupe (low wing) compared to a bunch of different high wings that I've had to get into.

Wait until you have a few thousand hours and you will just snort when someone starts agonizing over the position of the wing. It is meaningless.[/QUOTE

Unless it's time to wash the plane :)

Wait until you have a few thousand hours and you will just snort when someone starts agonizing over the position of the wing. It is meaningless.[/QUOTE

Unless it's time to wash the plane :)

When speaking of airplanes such as these, low wing and high wing mean a little more.

Attachments

• HI-Max Avenger Justin 006.JPG
    HI-Max Avenger Justin 006.JPG
    1.8 MB · Views: 56
  • HI-Max Avenger Justin 001.JPG
    HI-Max Avenger Justin 001.JPG
    1.3 MB · Views: 64
Now I'm afraid of Cherokees, since they handle almost like an aerobatic plane.:lol: Wish I knew sooner I'd never have flown the high roll rate deathtraps.:rolleyes2:

Thanks for posting the link to the video. One thing I'm surprised they didn't mention is how much easier it is to fuel a low wing.