GPS loss on all devices?

SixPapaCharlie

May the force be with you
Display Name

Display name:
Sixer
Yesterday I flew an airplane.
For nearly an hour, my iPad and Garmin were both unable to find me.

Garman had a message stating "GPS signal lost" and a "?" in the middle of the screen.
Foreflight was just showing the map. No plane, no blue dot BUT stratus was reporting multiple towers and signal strength was good (although that's probably irrelevant).

Curious as to why both would have been unable to detect GPS at the same time. I am guessing something external as they use separate antennas. Given there are generally 4+ satellites at any given time, I would think the GPS signal would be pretty solid.

Not a big deal except flying in circles for an hour until the signal came back but was curious if someone knows why this might happen. I feel like this has happened once before.

I'm no expert but maybe the flux capacitor had a reverse inflow of proportional anti-spacial feedback??? Just replying for a friend.

It was the elf getting you back

Trying to lock on to the satellites while moving seems to sometimes be more of an issue - did they work at first and then lose it? Or did they not work from the get-go?

Was there a GPS Jamming NOTAM for the area?

There was aNOTAM for ny area extending quite a distance about gps interference

What that is is a warning shot across the bow of all the sky mariners who believe that GPS is the end-all/be-all of navigation. This is a point I have made since the beginning of Loran. Put all your eggs on one basket and the yolk is on you.
I still carry an old and outdated set of charts. The VOR receiver is working and calibrated. And episodically I fly a VOR track out and back, including time to station by tracking across two radials, ending with a VOR-A approach, all on my own.