GI-275 Question

Discussion in 'Avionics and Upgrades' started by Timothy Burchett, Mar 24, 2020.

Tags:
  1. Timothy Burchett

    Timothy Burchett Filing Flight Plan

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2016
    Messages:
    9
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Tim
    Has anyone installed a GI-275 yet? I see it is compatible with a GTP 59 OAT probe, but can’t find anywhere that says if it actually displays True Airspeed. The manual only says it “calculates TAS.” Does anyone know if TAS can be displayed on a GI-275 configured as a primary ADI? Can TAS be displayed on a GI-275 configured as a primary HSI? I plan to install at least one configured as an HSI and maybe a second as an ADI if the installation quote isn’t too bad, and am debating installing the OAT probe, which only sees worth it if one of the displays can actually show the calculated TAS. Thanks.
     
  2. Jdm

    Jdm Pre-Flight

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2020
    Messages:
    56
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Jdm
    I just had the GI275 MFD installed. Only flown it twice. Still trying to learn the details and get the garmin database updated. It’s probably the nicest round instrument I’ve ever used. Unbelievable display! I actually like it better than our G5’s that we also had installed. I’m pretty sure you can get TAS but you better check with the installer to be sure. My experience has been that the installers know WAY more than garmin customer support.
     
  3. WannFly

    WannFly En-Route

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2016
    Messages:
    4,758
    Location:
    KFAR
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Priyo
    pics or it didnt happen :p
     
  4. Jdm

    Jdm Pre-Flight

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2020
    Messages:
    56
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Jdm
    Haha, here ya go. Pretty clean for a 172 huh:)
     

    Attached Files:

    455 Bravo Uniform likes this.
  5. WannFly

    WannFly En-Route

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2016
    Messages:
    4,758
    Location:
    KFAR
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Priyo
    Daaauuumm it’s really nice
     
  6. asicer

    asicer En-Route

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2015
    Messages:
    4,963
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    asicer
    I must admit, it did take me a couple seconds to figure out which round gauge was pushing pixels.
     
  7. Ryan Klems

    Ryan Klems Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    May 21, 2018
    Messages:
    161
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Rowat
    Out of curiosity why did you install the GI-275 CDI as opposed to just connecting both the GTN and GNC to the G5s? Doesn't look like you have an autopilot that would have forbidden that.

    Edit: never mind, I saw in your other post that it’s the MFD, just on the CDI screen there! Makes sense.
     
  8. WannFly

    WannFly En-Route

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2016
    Messages:
    4,758
    Location:
    KFAR
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Priyo
    I see you have 345 and guessing you are connecting your iPad or whatever to it using BT, the 275 also accepts BT connection I think... do you just connect to one or the other? Does the traffic fallout also comes from 275 along with terrain?
     
  9. Jdm

    Jdm Pre-Flight

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2020
    Messages:
    56
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Jdm
    Asicer, that’s right. The CDI display, or ECDI as I call it, looks exactly like an analog gauge but MUCH easier to read. It’s by far the most brilliant display I’ve used in my 36 years of flying. Much better than the G5’s.

    Ryan, that’s exactly right. The GTN and GNC is connected to the G5’s. And yes, the GI-275 is the MFD version. It was indeed on the CDI page in that photo. All the pages are great but that CDI page is probably my favorite. The HSI page is pretty sharp also! I used it for one approach tonight, still trying to get comfortable with that page. The touch screen source selector button is super nice. It quickly toggles the CDI between sources. GPS, #1 nav, or #2 nav. Of course any of that can also be on the G5’s as well. The GI-275 honestly makes me forget that the G5’s are considered primary!

    WannFly: Tonight was only the 3rd time I’ve flown it. It was my 1st night flight with the new equipment. I spent most of my time trying to figure out the stupid lighting and it’s still not exactly the way I want it. I haven’t had a chance to even connect the BT, but yes, my iPad will connect to the 345. My understanding is that the 275’s BT capability is for database updates only, if you have the FS510, which I do not. The 275 does have traffic and terrain. I’m assuming your asking about the source of traffic and terrain provided to the 275? I’m pretty sure the traffic is straight from the 345 but the terrain is different. The 275 has it’s own internal database. It also has it’s own independent GPS within the 275MFD, but it’s reversionary so I’m guessing the terrain works the same. 275 GPS signals come from a priority order with the GTN650Xi being top of the list. If the 650 goes out, the 275 automatically pulls from it’s own internal GPS. At least that the way it was explained to me.

    BTW, the GTN650Xi is pretty sweet also! The display is lightning fast.

    Enjoying being a student pilot again!

    JDM
     
  10. WannFly

    WannFly En-Route

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2016
    Messages:
    4,758
    Location:
    KFAR
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Priyo
    Thanks for the pirep. After posting the q, I went and drooled over the entire pilots guide and the AFMS. From what I can tell the 275 has aural alert for traffic and terrain and be connected to to your handheld via BT. That’s why I was wondering why connect to both 345 and 275. So both radios are connected to G5 and 275? That’s pretty cool.

    Man this is a nice set up. Congrats on a very nice panel. Envy.
     
  11. Jdm

    Jdm Pre-Flight

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2020
    Messages:
    56
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Jdm
    Thanks!!!
    Yeah, it does have aural alerts, they come through the audio panel. I kinda forgot about that feature. Certainly never considered pushing it to a handheld.
    Yes, both nav receivers are indeed connected to the G5’s and the 275MFD. We went round and round about that subject prior to purchasing. Very happy with both being connected that way. The G5-HSI bearing pointers are also connected to both sources.
     
    WannFly likes this.
  12. louisut

    louisut Filing Flight Plan

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2020
    Messages:
    3
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    louisut
    According to our installer, TAS is recorded with the GTP 59 OAT probe installed, but it's only displayed on a D2 watch or in the Garmin Pilot app. It isn't displayed on the GIs. I wouldn't be surprised if it were added later though like with the G5.

    Adding the OAT sensor also adds the standard rate turn indicator to the GI ADI. This would allow you to remove the turn coordinator.
     
  13. WannFly

    WannFly En-Route

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2016
    Messages:
    4,758
    Location:
    KFAR
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Priyo
    No, OAT probe has nothing to do with standard rate turn indicator. I had that turn indicator way before OAT probe. And you can only remove turn coordinator or AI or a combination as documented in the STC.
     
  14. louisut

    louisut Filing Flight Plan

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2020
    Messages:
    3
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    louisut
    I'm talking about the GI, not the G5. On the GI, the standard-rate turn indicator requires the OAT probe. From page 1-8 in the installation manual:
    The standard turn indicator is displayed at the top of the display on the roll indicator when the requisite airspeed is reached. A standard-rate turn (3-degrees per second) is shown on the indicator by the airplane shaped markers on the roll indicator. The GTP 59 Outside Air Temperature Probe is required for this functionality.
     

    Attached Files:

  15. WannFly

    WannFly En-Route

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2016
    Messages:
    4,758
    Location:
    KFAR
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Priyo
    That’s something new for 275. I was referring to G5. Should have mentioned
     
  16. asicer

    asicer En-Route

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2015
    Messages:
    4,963
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    asicer
    If you go on the GTN into Utilities->DALT/TAS/Winds and tap on the "Use Sensor Data" button, does it slurp all that info from the GI275 as ADC input?
     
  17. louisut

    louisut Filing Flight Plan

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2020
    Messages:
    3
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    louisut
    Couldn't say. Ours is still in the shop but should be done any day now. It's also paired with a 430W, not a GTN. The flight manual supplement doesn't mention anything about it though.
     
  18. Groundpounder

    Groundpounder Cleared for Takeoff

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2013
    Messages:
    1,213
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Amanda Hugandkiss
    Can you post some pics of it in the moving map mode?
     
  19. asicer

    asicer En-Route

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2015
    Messages:
    4,963
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    asicer
    GNS430W manual says it will autopop from an ADC. Only question is whether the GI275 counts as an ADC.
     
  20. Jdm

    Jdm Pre-Flight

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2020
    Messages:
    56
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Jdm
    Sure, I’m planning to take pics of the various pages next flight.
     
    Groundpounder likes this.
  21. Fracpilot

    Fracpilot Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2019
    Messages:
    145
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Fracpilot
    It does on the G5. This was a change in G5 software update 6.40 that allowed the GTN to get the OAT data over the 429 bus.

    I have tested it in the GTN650 after the 6.40 update and it works perfect where before I could t see any of the OAT data on the GTN650 under DALT/TAS/Winds


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  22. asicer

    asicer En-Route

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2015
    Messages:
    4,963
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    asicer
    Yeah, but does the GTN get pitot-static from the G5 like it would from a Shadin ADC? If not the G5, how about the GI275?
     
  23. Fracpilot

    Fracpilot Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2019
    Messages:
    145
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Fracpilot
    The G5 gets it from the GAD13 which interfaces the G5 and temp probe. Like I posted earlier, G5 update 6.40 opened up the 429 bus to allow winds aloft from the G5 to the GTN.

    I don’t know anything about the Shadin ADC or GI275


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  24. Arrow76R

    Arrow76R Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2015
    Messages:
    159
    Location:
    Colorado Springs
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Arrow76r
    So which model of the GI 275 allows the CDI display AND the MFD display? I thought those two functions required two different GI 275s.
     
  25. Arrow76R

    Arrow76R Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2015
    Messages:
    159
    Location:
    Colorado Springs
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Arrow76r
    Maybe we could submit to Garmin a "wish-list" item to have their synthetic vision added on to the G5 ADI !!!
     
  26. flyingcheesehead

    flyingcheesehead Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Messages:
    23,319
    Location:
    UQACY, WI
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    iMooniac
    I'm guessing it doesn't have enough processing power to do it well, or they'd have already done it. The G5 has been around for a long time, technologically speaking.
     
  27. WannFly

    WannFly En-Route

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2016
    Messages:
    4,758
    Location:
    KFAR
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Priyo
    The G5 HSI has a lot of dead space and I was hoping Garmin would slowly bring traffic and/or SVT/ terrain as a overlay, but after the launch of 275, I can safely assume that ship has sailed
     
  28. Mtns2Skies

    Mtns2Skies Super Moderator Management Council Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Messages:
    3,902
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Mtns2Skies
    I've got two GI275 ADAHRS sitting in the avionics shop for a couple weeks. I'm waiting to get a slot to go in to get them installed, they'll be the first installs that this shop does of them, but the quarantines have been messing things up.

    Assuming (@flyingcheesehead ) doesn't steal them first.
     
    flyingcheesehead likes this.
  29. WannFly

    WannFly En-Route

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2016
    Messages:
    4,758
    Location:
    KFAR
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Priyo
    Does 2 of them allow you to get rid of the traditional 6 pack?
     
  30. Mtns2Skies

    Mtns2Skies Super Moderator Management Council Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Messages:
    3,902
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Mtns2Skies
    Technically yes, however I'm just removing the vacuum system and leaving the remainder of my instruments. Two are required to remove the vacuum system.
     
    WannFly likes this.
  31. Jdm

    Jdm Pre-Flight

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2020
    Messages:
    56
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Jdm
    Nope, not necessarily. The base model allows both and is exactly what I have. Think of the CDI as part of the MFD in this config. The CDI is simply one of the multi-function pages that can be displayed. My panel pic shows the display on the CDI page, but there’s about 7 more pages there. It’s all shop programmable. You pick what you want on page 1 (power up default), 2, 3, and so on.

    Here’s the catch: The GI275 MFD base is considered “secondary” in terms of course guidance. If you need it to act as your primary source then it has to be installed as the CDI only version. In my case, I have 2 G5’s that are considered primary. Therefore, a stand alone CDI wasn’t even needed. Obviously, in my case the GI275 can be considered a secondary instrument and therefore qualifies for the MFD options. Being we have the CDI programmed as page 1, it defaults there on power up. It looks primary, and works just like a primary, but it’s deemed secondary for installation legality. It’s the exact same CDI page as a stand alone GI275 CDI model. This is why I’ve made the comments about my 275 being more primary than my primary:)
    The MFD model is the way to go if you qualify for secondary usage. It’s the same price as the stand alone CDI model, but allows all the other pages also. CDI, Map, HSI, traffic, weather, internal gps w/direct-to buttons, engine monitoring,
    and an all-in-one page. I don't remember the exact order of the pages. I’ll get picks tomorrow. We have about 5 of the 7 pages active. Didn’t activate the engine page because we don’t have engine monitors, etc.
     
    flyingcheesehead and WannFly like this.
  32. Timothy Burchett

    Timothy Burchett Filing Flight Plan

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2016
    Messages:
    9
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Tim
    Thanks for the great information. I plan to pair the GI-275 configured as an HSI with a GNC 355. It looks like that also has the TAS utility like the GTN. I wonder if it does take the OAT info and other info from the 275 automatically to calculate.

    I had one more question. After reading the operating manual, it looks like Database Concierge is built into the GI-275 since it has both WiFi and Bluetooth. I didn’t see any reference to a 510 being needed for this feature. Since the pilot guide also says that the GI-275 can sync its database to a 175/355/375 unit, does this mean that you can use Database Concierge to update the 355 through the GI-275 without the need for a 510? If so, this would be amazing.
     
  33. Timothy Burchett

    Timothy Burchett Filing Flight Plan

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2016
    Messages:
    9
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Tim
    Also, I use ForeFlight and don’t plan to change since I have a Stratus ESG / 2S transponder, and the Stratus 2S won’t display weather and traffic on the Garmin Pilot app. In addition to subscribing to the annual database updates needed for Database Concierge, do you also need to pay for a subscription to Garmin Pilot, or can you transfer the database with a free version of the app so long as you pay for the database subscription?
     
  34. Jdm

    Jdm Pre-Flight

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2020
    Messages:
    56
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Jdm
    I don’t know of any stand alone GI275 HSI. Of the non-AHARS models there is a CDI (stand alone) config, and a MFD. It’s all based on the primary or secondary condition as previously posted.

    I’m struggling with updates myself. We just purchased a one year update for all of our equipment as a group bundle. This includes the GI275, GTN650Xi, and GNC255. The 275 can absolutely be updated with the FS510 via BT but that’s not required. It can also be updated with a usb flash drive via the dongle cord.

    The 275 pulls/syncs from the smartest source according to my installation guy. In my case, it pulls from the GTN650xi first. If the 650 goes TU, it pulls from its internal gps which we had connected to an external antenna instead of the glare shield antenna. I don’t think it can pull database updates from the other equipment but I’m a rookie at updating this thing. There’s no one to lean on here as we have the first one installed in the region. Garmin CS is very hit and miss on technical answers. They are super nice and helpful, just not conclusive. If its a difficult question they are maybe 50/50 accurate. Trust your dealer/installer as your best source of information. I’ve had to learn this the hard way.
     
  35. murphey

    murphey Final Approach PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Messages:
    9,270
    Location:
    Colorado
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    murphey
    Which is the 275?
     
  36. bnt83

    bnt83 Final Approach PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2012
    Messages:
    8,915
    Location:
    Lincoln NE
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Brian
    The G5 glareshield antenna seemed like a goofy thing to replace the roof mounted GA35 antenna that was in a previous revision of the STC install manual, both airplanes I fly have GA35s connected directly to the G5 ADI and have RS232 from GTNs.

    Seems like the same revision that spec’ed the special CANBUS cable is when the GA35 was replaced with the glareshield antenna.
     
  37. flyingcheesehead

    flyingcheesehead Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Messages:
    23,319
    Location:
    UQACY, WI
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    iMooniac
    You need a subscription, unfortunately. The database subscription includes an upgrade of your GP subscription to "Premium" or somesuch, but you still have to pay another $100/year for the base Garmin Pilot subscription. That's the biggest annoyance with the whole setup.
     
  38. Jdm

    Jdm Pre-Flight

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2020
    Messages:
    56
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Jdm
    Top right round gauge. Has CDI page in view
     
  39. Joey Ferreyra

    Joey Ferreyra Filing Flight Plan

    Joined:
    Monday
    Messages:
    3
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Joey Ferreyra
    Hi everyone, my name is Joey, I'm on the Garmin Aviation Team. I thought I could help address this and any other questions that come up. Unfortunately, the GI 275 does not display True Airspeed at this time. Displaying TAS, OAT and wind direction/speed when is on our list. As someone mentioned, the GTP 59 OAT probe is not required with installation of a GI 275 AI/ADI if the turn rate coordinator is maintained.

    I would invite anyone interested to attend our webinars we're hosting this week in lieu of giving them in person at the Spring shows originally scheduled for this week. We will presenting on the GI 275 on Tuesday, March 31 and Thursday, April 3. While I await my link sharing privileges, you can find them by Googling "Garmin Aviation Webinars". Thank you all for your interest and either being a Garmin customer or considering becoming one!
     
  40. Groundpounder

    Groundpounder Cleared for Takeoff

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2013
    Messages:
    1,213
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Amanda Hugandkiss
    Are these going to be different than the webinars that were presented back shortly after the introduction of the GI-275?