GI-275 Question

Discussion in 'Avionics and Upgrades' started by Timothy Burchett, Mar 24, 2020.

Tags:
  1. flyingcheesehead

    flyingcheesehead Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Messages:
    23,793
    Location:
    UQACY, WI
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    iMooniac
    Does it do anything with the G5s?
     
  2. Ryan F.

    Ryan F. Cleared for Takeoff

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2016
    Messages:
    1,028
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Ryan Ferguson 1974
    No. Just a charger. I have a USB charger "plugged in" to my cigarette lighter adapter, but it's not in a convenient place.

    The G5s have a removeable SD card for updates.
     
    flyingcheesehead likes this.
  3. Mtns2Skies

    Mtns2Skies Administrator Management Council Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,269
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Mtns2Skies
  4. RyanB

    RyanB Administrator Management Council Member PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,436
    Location:
    Chattanooga, TN
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Ryan
    Woohoo! So glad you got it back and flying! PIREP when able please!
     
  5. Fracpilot

    Fracpilot Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2019
    Messages:
    240
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Fracpilot
  6. Mtns2Skies

    Mtns2Skies Administrator Management Council Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,269
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Mtns2Skies
    Well, the GPS is VFR only, but the HSI is all good to shoot ILS's and such.
     
  7. hish747

    hish747 Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2015
    Messages:
    194
    Location:
    Skylark Airpark
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Hish747
    Good deal on these units here if anyone is interested.
     
  8. Ryan Klems

    Ryan Klems Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    May 21, 2018
    Messages:
    281
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Rowat
    FYI, Spruce has it for $200 less than that at $2695 (before further dealer/veteran/etc discounts)
     
  9. flyingcheesehead

    flyingcheesehead Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Messages:
    23,793
    Location:
    UQACY, WI
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    iMooniac
  10. Mtns2Skies

    Mtns2Skies Administrator Management Council Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,269
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Mtns2Skies
    I flew 5 hours to/from a camping trip so it's PIREP time.

    The AI is PERFECT. I wouldn't change a thing. I love the synthetic vision, and the information, but also the simplicity. I'm glad I didn't have the tapes added because it would clutter up the synthviz.

    The HSI gave me some whiplash. To give it some context, I'm coming into this with zero glass cockpit time and a DG that's been broken for the past year. So going from a DG to any HSI was going to take some getting used to... but this one is a LOT to take in. It's an HSI with a GPS map underneath with about a billion configurations. The only choice I had with my DG was "do I trust this today or not?" and it was kinda like a clock and right once every 360*. The HSI can be swapped between giving bearings to the VOR, or to a GPS destination. I wish it could do both, but it makes sense that it can't. The functionality of the GPS is not even close compared to my Aera, but I guess that makes sense too, it's an HSI, not a GPS. Even the -D-> options takes more clicks than I think it should and can be a bit cumbersome. The knob defaults back to the HDG bug which is my biggest annoyance. It's supposed to be an HSI so I wish it defaulted to the CRS selection, not the heading bug. Especially since I don't have an autopilot. With my old crappy CDI I could just spin it, but now I have to do a button click, and then spin it.

    Overall I love them both... just going to take some getting used to which is to be expected for my small luddite brain.
     
    RyanB, flyingcheesehead and Ryan F. like this.
  11. flyingcheesehead

    flyingcheesehead Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Messages:
    23,793
    Location:
    UQACY, WI
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    iMooniac
    Ah, that makes sense. We don't have synviz because we only have the AI and the synviz requires the magnetometer.

    I think that's also probably why you like it so much (not having tapes) as setting the bugs is what annoys me about how they made the UI. IMO the outer knob is kind of wasted from the main AI screen.

    I think what you're seeing is the design philosophy having been that this is something that works with a panel mounted IFR GPS like a GNS or GTN, since I think most GI 275 users are going to have something like that and they won't be trying to use the GI 275 to put together a flight plan. Plus, if you have a flight plan in the GPS it should feed the course to the HSI automatically and you'd never have to change the course, which is probably why the knob defaults to heading. As a person who flies IFR and/or flies into controlled airports a lot, I would switch heading a lot more often than course. For you, obviously, that is not true, but I think you're a "non-traditional user" from Garmin's perspective.
     
    Mtns2Skies likes this.
  12. Timothy Burchett

    Timothy Burchett Pre-Flight

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2016
    Messages:
    33
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Tim
    I got the GI-275 HSI installed with a GTN-650, and it is fantastic. I did have one follow up question: when I hit the CDI button on the 650 on the Default Nav page to swap between VLOC and GPS, should that also switch the nav input displayed on the GI-275 (green VOR/ILS or purple GPS needles)? Likewise, if I swap nav on the 275, should it cross fill to match on the 650? Mine does not, and I’m not sure if it should. If they don’t cross fill, would there ever be any need to swap default nav on the 650 since I am navigating off the 275? Thanks.
    B50E9FB3-D67F-4628-937D-66284F91C55E.jpeg 6C92085E-A2ED-4C65-8BA4-3B2D97E2B334.jpeg
     
    Last edited: Nov 20, 2020
  13. flyingcheesehead

    flyingcheesehead Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Messages:
    23,793
    Location:
    UQACY, WI
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    iMooniac
    My CDI doesn't crossfill either (GTN 750, GI 275 AI). I thought of a possible good reason for that at the time, but now I can't remember. But yes, that is normal.

    I think you should change both when you're flying an ILS though.