GA "needs"

jeremyk13

Pre-Flight
Display Name

Display name:
jeremyk13
Hi everyone. Sorry if this has been posted before, but my searches have come up empty so far.

I am a low hours private pilot, and do not have the experience to phrase this question in a more elegant fashion. As a thought exercise, what are the current "needs" in general aviation? What are some shortcomings in need of attention? What about potential luxuries that aren't actual needs, but you would consider to be great to have?

I know it's a very open question, but I look forward to the discussions that may follow.

not really sure where you're going with this, but GA "needs" to be more cost effective for more people to get involved. and for me to get more involved.

Just like most anything

Less government meddling

Less taxes

Toss the 2020 ADSB mandate in the garbage

Toss the TSA and airport prison fences in the garbage

Don't try to "fix" our existing aviation system which works REALLY well.

That would be a great start.

Just like most anything

Less government meddling

Less taxes

Toss the 2020 ADSB mandate in the garbage

Toss the TSA and airport prison fences in the garbage

Don't try to "fix" our existing aviation system which works REALLY well.

That would be a great start.

Pretty much sums it all up. Would be nice if operation and insurance costs were lower, but that is what it is.

Diversity and youth. At most of the aviation events you see a bunch of old white guys. I think we can do better.

I say this as a getting older white guy. :)

Diversity and youth. At most of the aviation events you see a bunch of old white guys. I think we can do better.

yep.
I am on the wrong side of 40, and am the youngest guy at our EAA chapter.

the decline in pilot population over the past 20 odd years hasn't been stopped yet.