First autoland... Major rush

Kritchlow

Final Approach
Display Name

Display name:
Kritchlow
I have been an aviation professional for 30+ years, but recently transitioned to a major 121 airline. Although we trained extensively in the sim, this morning was my first actual cat / auto-land appoach I have ever done. In short, it was tense, but an extreme rush. We did it by the book. Briefed and executed. The system works.

Just thought I'd share.

ETA..
The Runway RVR was extremely low. We are certified to Cat IIIB mins.

Last edited:
Heh, if it was yesterday...I have a good guess where you got that experience. We were at CAT II minimums most of the morning. At one point the RVR got low enough we almost lost CAT II.

I've done the Cat II in 600 RVR in the sim. I can't imagine what Cat III must be like.

Heh, if it was yesterday...I have a good guess where you got that experience. We were at CAT II minimums most of the morning. At one point the RVR got low enough we almost lost CAT II.

Yup... ORD !!

I've done the Cat II in 600 RVR in the sim. I can't imagine what Cat III must be like.

We are qualled to cat IIIB, 300 RVR. That said this approach was within CAT II minimums.
Our manual specifies anything less than 2400 RVR must be autoland.

I have been an aviation professional for 30+ years, but recently transitioned to a major 121 airline. Although we trained extensively in the sim, this morning was my first actual cat / auto-land appoach I have ever done. In short, it was tense, but an extreme rush. We did it by the book. Briefed and executed. The system works.

Just thought I'd share.

ETA..
The Runway RVR was extremely low. We are certified to Cat IIIB mins.

I don't believe it is good to feel rushed on an auto-land approach especially when the weather is below CAT II minimums.

What type of aircraft?

What equipment does the airport need for autoland certification?

And once successfully on the runway, when do the humans take back control and for what actions?