Commercial add-on bust, need advice...

cranny

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
heli-airplane
This week i took my Commercial ASEL add-on coming from Commercial helicopter and it ended with my 1st bust.... Man it feels like a kick to the stomach for me. The standard which I hold myself to is pretty high so I feel pretty upset about it. I have been practicing these maneuvers the same way since i started training and showed the examiner exactly that so if he was not pleased than maybe its worth getting another cfi to observe me now...

The Examiner's comments written on my unsatisfactory letter is- "due to lack of understanding per the FAA Airplane Flying Handbook the applicant did not meet standards" However all the maneuvers were completed within PTS altitudes, airspeeds, bank angles, rollout heading requirements. I challenged the examiner in the debrief on this and he said i didn't follow how it guides you to do it in the Airplane Flying Handbook. I also missed only 1 question which he asked about the three maneuvers i busted. All others were answered correctly.

Numerous people have told me today that it could be a technique thing from person to person. I wonder how the examiner can list the Airplane Flying Handbook as a book which I am graded to as i thought only the PTS was used for determining satisfactory performance? I wish to hear your guys feedback on this. People have mentioned to me that I should talk to the local FSDO regarding this checkride. Not sure what the point would be.

Would you guys advise to get another cfi or stay with mine? I doubt speaking with the FSDO would really do anything. On the fence about what to do.

Thanks

I'm confused how he could have busted you if all maneuvers were performed to PTS standards. Did he not like how you set up the maneuvers?

I'm confused how he could have busted you if all maneuvers were performed to PTS standards. Did he not like how you set up the maneuvers?