"Call this number when landed advise when ready to copy"

vince

Pre-Flight
Display Name

Display name:
Vince
So I had this dreaded request today during my IR training. I was flying into STL with my CFII and I botched my radio work and the approach controller told me to call him. He chewed me out for not reading back to him and not getting back to him (I honestly didn't hear). My CFII was just grinning until I got that call. He said he's never heard of someone being told to call in for shoddy radio work. I explained I'm a student when I called the number and basically just got slapped on the hand. So am I PIC when training? We were on an IFR flight plan in my instructors name doesn't that mean he is PIC?

This was my first time flying into STL and I've only just started my IR training. My CFII thought it would be a good experience for me.

It sounds like your CFII wanted you to see first hand what happens when you fail to maintain an active scan while IFR. If you neglect your radios and thus miss calls, ATC gets crankier the closer you get to a conflict or critical turn. Enough missed calls or requests for re-issuance of a clearance and ATC starts wondering if you are in distress. In any case, your CFII was PIC, and technically in charge of the flight while you were IFR. Instead of prompting you in the plane, he let you drown on your own.

Kind of a jerk move to prove a point.

On a lighter note, congratulations. You had a brief glimpse of what training as an ATC is like. :D