Approach procedures in a retract

MAKG1

Touchdown! Greaser!
Display Name

Display name:
MAKG
So, now that I'm an instrument pilot, I thought I'd try out a few approaches in other aircraft I'm qualified for. Took out a 177RG. Flew VFR 'cause traffic was NUTS, and the numbers not familiar enough.

I quickly discovered that I couldn't slow down reasonably at the IAF unless I dropped gear and 10 flaps, or else dialed the MP down to idle (not an option for me, as it requires ignoring a gear alarm -- 177RG sets it off only by throttle position). The plane wanted to descend at 120 knots at 16 inches MP and 500 FPM descent.

Do people fly the initial segment fast, or drop gear and flaps that early? I thought landing configuration was done at the FAF, not IAF.

For me it depends on what approach I am doing, what the ceilings are and if I am in a hurry. In the Lancair on an ILS if I don't have the gear down by the time I reach the IAF, staying on the glideslope it will not slow down to gear speed even at idle power. If the ceilings are higher I might not mind but typically I have the gear down by the IAF.

I drop my gear and configure one dot below GS or 3nm from the FAF, works well in fastish turboprops all the way to slower piston planes.

Carefully about pulling out too much power to descend, watch your CHTs.

Technique varies. For example, I prefer no-flap approaches and do them in everything from Arrows and Cutlasses to Bonanzas and Mooneys. Others prefer flaps.

Technique for gear varies also but less. Seems to be fairly standard for most pilots to drop the gear when crossing the FAF or intercepting the glideslope. I do not fly or teach the initial segment fast. I want to be at my approach descent speed before well before I intercept the FAC, whether vectored or full.

Assuming you are already at the speed you want, the lowering of the gear results in a 3° descent without doing much of anything else.