Another “How do I log this time” thread

flyingpreacher

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
flyingpreacher
So for reference, I’m an instrument rated ASEL pilot with High Performance and complex endorsements.

Tonight I had the awesome privilege of my first flight in a Cirrus SR22T. Super cool and I loved every second. I was “along for the ride” with a fellow pilot, but he let me be “sole manipulator of the controls” for a while, even in IMC. So I know what amount I can log for PIC (the amount of time I was sole manipulator) and the amount I can log for IMC. My question is, what do I put down for the flight time? The total duration of the flight or just the portion I flew?

On the one hand it doesn’t seem that I COULD log the whole flight since he (or the AP) flew most of the way.

On the other hand, it seems weird to have a flight that is only logged as being 0.2hrs total time. I know that for the rest of the flight I was what @Brad Z called in another thread a “pilot rated passenger.”

I don’t have aspirations of flying for the airlines, but I am working toward commercial/CFI/CFI-I, so I don’t want to be inaccurate with my logbook.

So for reference, I’m an instrument rated ASEL pilot with High Performance and complex endorsements.

Tonight I had the awesome privilege of my first flight in a Cirrus SR22T. Super cool and I loved every second. I was “along for the ride” with a fellow pilot, but he let me be “sole manipulator of the controls” for a while, even in IMC. So I know what amount I can log for PIC (the amount of time I was sole manipulator) and the amount I can log for IMC. My question is, what do I put down for the flight time? The total duration of the flight or just the portion I flew?

On the one hand it doesn’t seem that I COULD log the whole flight since he (or the AP) flew most of the way.