Airspeed, or Altitude After Takeoff?

tobnpr

Pre-Flight
Display Name

Display name:
tobnpr
As a low-time student, I spend a lot of time studying what to do- and not to do, during critical phases of flight.
After reading of several recent suspected or confirmed engine-out mishaps after takeoff I'm curious as to opinions on whether most of you do a typical (not short field, no obstructions to consider) takeoff at Vx, Vy, or something in between.

CFI told me "altitude is your friend" and had me typically climbing at Vx to gain altitude as quickly as possible in the event of an engine-out right after takeoff.
BUT... as I try to wrap my head around energy management, I question it.

Yes, I have more altitude at any given point than if I were at Vy- but I also have slower airspeed, and a greater angle of attack.
By the time I would process, and react to an engine out- I'd have lost more precious airspeed than I otherwise would have, more energy, and would need to pitch down more aggressively for best glide speed.

Where am I wrong in thinking that I'd be better off with lower altitude- but more kinetic energy?

CFI told me "altitude is your friend" and had me typically climbing at Vx to gain altitude as quickly as possible in the event of an engine-out right after takeoff.
BUT... as I try to wrap my head around energy management, I question it.
You are right to question it because it isn’t wise.

Climbing at Vx is something to do in specific situations where you need to climb at a steeper angle for terrain or other obstacles.

But to do it as a regular practice is asking for trouble for a couple of reasons.

One, if you are climbing with a high angle at Vx you are much closer to your stall speed. If the engine does quit on you in such a situation you have less reaction time to get the nose down before you stall/spin. Any extra altitude you gained climbing at Vx doesn’t help if you spin it in.