AirAsia Jet Plunges 24,000 Feet in Just 9 Minutes

deonb

Pattern Altitude
Display Name

Display name:
deonb
And by "plunges" they mean: "Descend at 2600 fpm".

https://www.nbcnews.com/storyline/a...et-plunges-24-000-feet-just-9-minutes-n810971

Of course the FA's are to blame for the panic, but curious what is the procedure from the cockpit for doing a rapid descent?

Shouldn't the pilot or FO come on over the PA and announce: "Hey folks, we're just flying down to a lower altitude to get you some breathable air - we'll get there in 10 minutes and then you can take the masks off". Or something like that.

I'm a bit surprised the pilot didn't at least inform the FA's of what was going on.

You got to laugh at the "lots of people pulling out the life jackets" comment though. Mmm, ok:

upload_2017-10-16_14-54-30.png

During a rapid descent, the pilots put on their oxygen masks. Passengers probably wouldn't understand what they were saying anyway. They are a bit busy during this emergency procedure. Getting to 10K all that matters.

Aviate, Navigate, and THEN Communicate. Talking to the passengers DURING the emergency descent is the absolute last thing on the pilots' minds in that case.

Sounds like the Flight attendants need more or better training.

As a passenger I’ve seen many safety briefings about putting on an oxygen mask. The video versions of these briefings seem calm, with no hint that the plane is not level, but is in fact descending fast.

I wonder why they don’t mention that this O2-mask-donning would be done during a rapid descent and that is nothing to be alarmed about.

I've been up front in an A320 a couple times and 2,000'/min was pretty common during the descent.

This does bring up a question - why did the pilot only descend at 2600 fpm? Wouldn't you want to get to 10'000 ft in like 5 minutes to prevent hypoxia?