A Few Class D Tower Com Questions

ProspectivePilotPete

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
Pete
I'm a private pilot who only flies into non controlled airports for the most part. Perfectly comfortable in the uncontrolled pattern, all aspects of aircraft control and pertinent rules and regs, talking to Flight Following, flying in route etc.

But put me at a controlled airport and I start to second guess everything I'm saying, just feel like I'm going to make a fool of myself, so I just avoid them whenever possible. It doesn't help that most of my training was done at uncontrolled airports as well. We practiced class D, and I was comfortable for a while, especially having my CFI right there, but after not keeping up with going into controlled airports, I lost my confidence, and now my class D skills.

Well, they switched one of my favorite uncontrolled airports into a controlled airport (KUAO) so it's time to buckle down and get comfortable with Class D. I'm going up with my CFI for a Class D refresher, but I would like to know the answers to these questions that, to be completely honest, I'd be embarrassed to ask my CFI, as I feel like I should know them. Hence the awesome power of the anonymous internet! Anyway, some questions I was thinking up as I thought back on previous experiences and thought through my process.

A big one I don't remember:
-On takeoff, do you stay in the pattern unless otherwise directed? Or, do you continue to climb on runway heading unless told to follow traffic pattern or otherwise directed?

-On departure, if I'm still inside the class D airspace, and the tower tells me to squawk VFR, is that also instructing me to continue my own navigation?

-Once I'm outside class D, do I need to request permission to change frequencies if permission has not already been given?

-After landing, do I need wait to be told which taxiway to take from the runway if not directed to take first available taxiway?