2017 Garmin Pilot vs. Foreflight vs. WingX

Eric Gleason

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
Eric Gleason
Hi, everyone. I'm about to make the leap into the world of iPads and EFB software in the cockpit, and I'd like to get input on the features everyone likes, dislikes, etc. I've been playing with just about every EFB package I can find, but I haven't had a chance to fly with them yet.

FWIW, I'm a VFR pilot, fly mostly locally but with the occasional XC. Will do a lot of flying with CAP, so the grid and search plan functions are good to have.

There are several older threads on this topic, but Garmin Pilot, Foreflight, and WingX have all had significant updates, so it seems like time for a new thread.

Hi, everyone. I'm about to make the leap into the world of iPads and EFB software in the cockpit, and I'd like to get input on the features everyone likes, dislikes, etc. I've been playing with just about every EFB package I can find, but I haven't had a chance to fly with them yet.

FWIW, I'm a VFR pilot, fly mostly locally but with the occasional XC. Will do a lot of flying with CAP, so the grid and search plan functions are good to have.

There are several older threads on this topic, but Garmin Pilot, Foreflight, and WingX have all had significant updates, so it seems like time for a new thread.

FltPlanGo has a CAP grid as well. It works great for VFR flying and it's free.

I am testing them all right now and find ForeFlight superior as an EFB in all categories (flight planning is a standout) however considering price and VFR-only flying I would be leaning towards Garmin Pilot or even FltPlan Go. It is not only the list of features that counts - it is the look/feel of the product which is very important and only you can judge that.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk Pro

Last edited:
ForeFlight Pro or bust.

FltPlanGo has a CAP grid as well. It works great for VFR flying and it's free.