1971 C150L - High Airframe Time + Prop Strike - Good Buy?

ogouda

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
ogouda
Looking at a 1971 C150L to build PPL hours and it's listed for 40k USD with the following details:
- Airframe time: 11,000 hours
- Prop Time Since Overhaul: 10 hours (after strike)
- Engine Time Since Overhaul: 10 hours (after strike)
- Annual inspection completed Jan 2022
- Situation: Plane sold by AME who bought off his customer after the prop strike and did the engine overhaul and annual inspection himself. The propeller was sent out for repair. It seems obvious it's for a quick profit.

I am not experienced in this field and I do not know whether AMEs can cut corners just to get a plane sold without doing proper repairs so two main questions:
1) How high is the risk here and what can I do to mitigate it?
2) Would you pay the list price for this plane and what valuation would you provide?

Thank you in advance!

AME? A&P/IA, perhaps.
Pre-purchase inspection is your friend; little else to do to mitigate disaster. Does it have the instrumentation/radios that you want? There are some for half that that run but may need work that you could "customize" if not.

Depends what the condition of the engine was after the strike (and just what the strike does). The mandate is for an inspection after any prop strike like that, but it doesn't necessarily need to be an overhaul unless other conditions indicate that it would be necessary. What does it have for avionics? $40K for a bare bones 150 isn't a tremendous price.

Seems a lot for a 150 of that vintage. The new overhaul is a plus, but a field overhaul by a random A&P doesn't add as much value as a factory or big name shop overhaul.

What does Continental require for a prop strike? Lycoming requires a teardown so you might as well overhaul it unless it's near new.