You ever?

Challenged

Pattern Altitude
Display Name

Display name:
Challenged
You ever misjudge the climb performance of your airplane and/or the height of some clouds up ahead and inadvertently fly through them a little bit?

nope. But while looking at something in the cockpit while flying below what I thought was a smooth overcast layer, I entered a lower shelf of clouds.

Unless I’m on an IFR flight plan, I try to avoid all clouds even a little,you never know if someone else is also in the clouds.

Whaaaaat? You can fly through clouds?!

ofcourse not, that's would be illegal and bad, never, not even just the tip.

Nowadays I think I'm going to be scraping clouds I just pull a clearance.

Almost. ATIS lied about 1400 ft ceiling, went up to do pattern couldn't climb above 700 AGL. Luckily I was a student and CFI was there to save the bacon. Great MVFR experience though. While on base, there was a citation on a short final, we couldn't even see it, tower had us do a 360 to avoid it

Sent from my SM-G935V using Tapatalk

Pretty often, yes.
(On an IFR plan obviously, still try to avoid them if I can, passenger comfort and all that).

define inadvertently
Inadvertently is when I do something that maybe is proscribed by rules. Deliberately is when you do something that is clearly proscribed by rules.

Welcome to POA.

Almost. But then I realized planes can turn as well as climb, and sometimes both at the same time.

Nothing should be inadvertent in an airplane... If you really "misjudged" maybe you are a bit "Challenged" :rolleyes:... Just say'n...

Wellllll there was this one time, or two....

upload_2018-1-24_8-35-36.jpeg
images

Last edited:
Yeah, just asking because my wife and I were flying back home from a weekend away and I was trying to get above a low broken layer to stop the bouncy bouncy and it took a while to find a good spot to make that happen. I've never done this myself of course.