Would really like to hear your weather experiences

LongRoadBob

Cleared for Takeoff
Display Name

Display name:
Jacker
For me as a beginner I see this forum as a real wealth of experience from many pilots.
I, and probably many others like me, could really get valuable...and let's face it, very interesting, info from hearing your stories.

I'm thinking like microbursts, wind shear, down and updrafts, or weather closing in and what you did, and how it worked out. It doesn't have to have a dramatic turn, just very insterested in "so I'm flying along and suddenly..." and what you did to correct or survive it.

I already know that many people disagree here on even what I thought were basics, but really if it happened and you survived (if you didn't I guess you won't be posting here) you did something right.

In reading about weather, they make it sound like this can happen anytime and not necessarily get a warning or ominous signs that one overlooked.

I'm curios about all of it. Flying and weather closes in suddenly, and even turning back is not a great option, or suddenly a downdraft, etc.

Whatever you have!

Coming back late from PVD to FRG had some unforecast fog. It was a beautiful night with calm winds. I was doing my night VFR cross country flying with my dad when we came up towards the coast of Long Island there was a nice, thin layer all over. Checked the ATIS at FRG and it was solid IFR and just our luck, the ILS was OTS and we were flying a /U 172 so no option for an RNAV approach. We got the weather for ISP and shot the ILS and ended up taking a cab back to FRG where our car was. It was a pretty neat experience and pretty cool seeing those approach lights right when we broke out. Other than that, I haven't really had much weather problems other than the usual icing and dodging thunderstorms.