When to buy your own plane?

mtnflyr

Pre-Flight
Display Name

Display name:
mtnflyr
My rental rates right now are 700 a month for a membership, plus 160 per hour wet for a 2015 cirrus sr20 every option checked aircraft. It's nice to fly. Very well maintained, the g1000 Pfd/mfd is seriously awesome to use. I really do feel like my money is paying for a high quality aircraft.

But.....

It is a lot of money. 20 hours of flying per month plus membership is four thousand bucks. That's a lot for a ballistic pull up bar.

I can buy a Cessna 182p, hanger,insurance, maintenance, annual, petrol, loan.....and I bet 2500 dollars a month would pay for all that plus some..... Am I stupid? Granted the c182p would have a purchase price of around 60k.

I'm a young pilot. I have 30 hours in aircraft that only fly because they vibrate so much the earth has repelled them (helicopters) and 45 hours in sensible fixed wing.

My mission is to have fun, fly to areas and buy expensive cheeseburgers, get ifr rated, commercial, introduce as many people I can to GA, Become a CFI. Most importantly make sure myself and everyone has a lot of fun.

Because this is my play ground....

Crossing the Sierras is literally a right of passage. When anyone up here does a solo xc, we first go east that has very few mountain ranges to deal with, but for out last solo xc we cross the Sierras at least twice to get our ticket. Once going west, once going east.

This week truckee has been a high of 8600 density altitude. The airport off the wingtip is KMEV, and has probably averaged 7400 DA this week.

When I flew to napa a few months back I couldn't believe the performance we got. Something about more air means more power I guess :)

Attachments

• 20161202_120249.jpg
    20161202_120249.jpg
    133.9 KB · Views: 91
  • IMG_0022.JPG
    IMG_0022.JPG
    78 KB · Views: 87
Last edited: