What's your IFR flight workflow?

fiveoboy01

Pattern Altitude
Display Name

Display name:
Dirty B
What do you guys do/how do you prepare for an IFR flight?

My question mainly centers around weather and what resources you use and in what order to determine things like destination and alternate, go/no go decisions, delaying departure, etc.. Prior to flight and even enroute...

However I'd like to hear about other things you do, such as regarding the airplane itself, your physical and mental state, passenger stuff, anything.

I'm a 200 hour VFR pilot about to take the instrument checkride and while VFR flight planning is ridiculously easy to me, this IFR stuff is a whole different world.

I'm curious to know how the experienced guys who fly IFR often handle their flights from beginning to end.

My question mainly centers around weather and what resources you use and in what order to determine things like destination and alternate, go/no go decisions, delaying departure, etc.. Prior to flight and even enroute...

However I'd like to hear about other things you do, such as regarding the airplane itself, your physical and mental state, passenger stuff, anything.

I'm a 200 hour VFR pilot about to take the instrument checkride and while VFR flight planning is ridiculously easy to me, this IFR stuff is a whole different world.

I'm curious to know how the experienced guys who fly IFR often handle their flights from beginning to end.
These days I do most of my flight planning (wx, route, destination info, alternates, etc) within Foreflight with some additional data from aviationweather.gov and a few other sources (e.g rucsoundings.noaa.gov, www.nws.noaa.gov/mdl/synop/products.php)

But I must emphasize that the best weather tools from a safety of flight perspective are those you can access in flight. Every pre-flight wx source is just a (sometimes well educated) guess. What actually occurs in flight is what's really important and the more the better.