What would you have done-had "stage check"

classicrock

Pre-Flight
Display Name

Display name:
acousticguitar
I had a "stage check" scheduled today with another instructor at my school suggested by the CFI I normally fly with

I am a student PPL in progress flying VFR.

its my practice when there are unusual weather conditions to communicate with my instructor(on phone) prior to lessons to determine go/no go

I couldnt reach the CFi today.

the visibility was good to great but winds were another story

I havent yet taken off or learned to takeoff or land in really strong crosswinds and I am not a fan of flying in even medium turbulence

I have attached the reports I looked at in making my decision

what would you have done? I cancelled

That's a conversation for you and your CFI, we really have no idea of your abilities.

I would have canceled, too. Even if those winds were right down the runway, they're not something I'd want to put a little Cessna through (which is what I imagine you're training in).

Have you learned about how to calculate crosswind components yet? If you haven't, it's pretty simple and extremely useful.

I would have canceled, too. Even if those winds were right down the runway, they're not something I'd want to put a little Cessna through (which is what I imagine you're training in).

Have you learned about how to calculate crosswind components yet? If you haven't, it's pretty simple and extremely useful.

Hi Rachel

I fly in a Piper Warrior currently though I have flown in a Cessan 172. yes I know how to calculate crosswind component. (I also know about crabbing though I havent had much practice with it)

You don't know your abilities until you've tried it. These are exactly the types of winds you should be flying in with a CFI, to build your experience and confidence level.

You may not "like" flying in turbulence, but you need to get the experience now as a student.