What does it look like from the CFI's perspective

climber74

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
climber74
Hello:

I've been lurking on this board since I started training for a private certification but this is my first post. There are more than enough threads that start with a frustrated student. I don't want to start another.

Instead, I'm hoping to hear from the CFI's. I'm sure working as a CFI can be stressful, terrifying, even soul crushing and not particularly lucrative. I'm sure it can be hard for a twenty-something to teach fourty-, fifty-, sixty-something students who have likely been successful in many other parts of their lives and have the ego to show for it.

In an effort to temper my frustration and give me some empathy and perspective, I'd like to understand what things look like from the right seat. I know that CFI's come in all different forms so I'll narrow it to aspirant ATP CFI's that are working for a part 61 school. What are their incentives and obstacles? What do their economics look like? What kinds of things follow them from their time as a CFI at a flight school to an ATP job application?

Thanks for any insight you can provide.

Loved, loved, loved it at the time, but those were much simpler times.
Today??? Would not touch a CFI job with a million foot pole.

I do understand the need for time if you want to be an airline pilot. In those cases I would go th pilot mill route. You have a path, plus some protection.

Reactions: 5QK
I instructed some 20 years ago, really enjoyed it 97% of the time. Squeezing into a plane with someone who has bad BO, doesn't listen, gets motion sick, rude, grumpy, or is late for appointments is the bad. I found the younger, and less hours they had, the better they were as a student.
Check rides with old people, or recurrent training with someone who had about 1,000 to 5,000 hours, was usually brutal, and they were not only terrible pilots, but didn't listen.