What can I be doing wrong on power off stalls?

LongRoadBob

Cleared for Takeoff
Display Name

Display name:
Jacker
I’ve been a student for a while now, but have had problems booking regularly. Lots of things, weather, health, availability of CFI’s, etc.

A few flight back when I was learning power off stalls, I didn’t quite do it right (same problem first time as I have now suddenly) but the flight after it went ok. We did a number of full stalls and I recovered ok.

It’s been months, and I flew yesterday, we did stalls and I kept going into a dive from the stall. I did a number of stalls, and then the CFI demonstrated, and I tried some more, but every time I was just trying to relieve the back pressure as the nose dropped, and suddenly (felt like) am looking down at the ground, and the CFI recovered.

I fly tomorrow with him again and of course am going to ask what he thought the problem is. But it was hectic after our flight with other students waiting and we really didn’t go into it.

I wasn’t scared of the stall, I ease back the yoke, feel and hear that a stall is imminent, and the nose drops and I don’t know what I do...I thought I was just relieving some back pressure, not like I was pushing the yoke, but every time we are suddenly in a dive.

I know it is hard to dissect from just what I write, but what will cause that?

Am I reacting too quickly, or too slowly ? I thought that even if I just let go of the yoke it would recover. I haven’t let go of it and it is possible I am pushing it, but I am not aware of it. And my intention is not to.

The hour was up before I got it right, and also I was getting a bit queasy. So we flew back and landed. Guessing this might be a common mistake, but I had done s lot better before.

So when you do a full stall in a Cessna 172, are you just slightly relieving back pressure, or maybe doing it slowly instead of abruptly? Is it just a slight relaxation (but not total) of the yoke?