Weird moment in the cockpit

ryan31

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
ryan
So currently I am a student pilot and I have been flying by myself for a while now. I was flying yesterday and it was very windy and it made me curse a little which is obvious because it was a bit bumpy. I was communicating on the mic and I did not have my finger on the button and I was talking to myself and it seemed that people on the frequency heard what I was saying in the cockpit. I did not notice until when I was talking to myself, "what is wrong with my mic," and then I hear someone on the frequency say, "nothing is wrong with your mic." Would I be in trouble for this or am I okay?

There have been previous cases… usual penalty is 15 years in the electric chair.
It's not known very widely, but the electric chair got its nickname "The Hot Seat" as an offshoot of people having hot mikes... :)

P.S. Ryan, you aren't in trouble. Sometimes the radio setups glitch and go into the transmit mode even if the PTT isn't pressed. No one will be concerned. It happens, and is called a "hot mike."

There's even an old joke about this. A student pilot is practicing maneuvers, and messes up. He moans, "I'm really F*****ed up today."

Unbeknownst to him, his radio is transmitting. A voice comes on: "Aircraft transmitting, this is Podunk tower. Identify yourself!"

The student sends back, "Listen, buddy, I ain't THAT f****** up....."

Ron Wanttaja

It's not known very widely, but the electric chair got its nickname "The Hot Seat" as an offshoot of people having hot mikes... :)

P.S. Ryan, you aren't in trouble. Sometimes the radio setups glitch and go into the transmit mode even if the PTT isn't pressed. No one will be concerned. It happens, and is called a "hot mike."

There's even an old joke about this. A student pilot is practicing maneuvers, and messes up. He moans, "I'm really F*****ed up today."